What I don’t get is this . . .

29 Oct

There are so many things I don’t get these days. Like people who comment on comics they view online. Go check out Arcamax comments. People actually comment on strips like Baby Blues and Zits as if the characters are real.

And, if you’ve been reading me for a while, I don’t get chubby guys doing outdoor activities topless.

But the thing that I don’t get more than any other, is how any one who wants to see fewer abortions, fewer teen pregnancies, fewer women sink into poverty because of an unplanned pregnancy can possibly support de-funding Planned Parenthood.

Planned Parenthood is the biggest preventer of unplanned pregnancy in the United States. They provide contraception, cervical cancer exams, referrals to mammography and a wealth of other services to women who couldn’t otherwise afford them.

That Planned Parenthood has become a political football is ludicrous. In fact, funding of Planned Parenthood was initially proposed by Richard Nixon, a Republican, and received strong bi-partisan support by Congress. Planned Parenthood receives federal funding primarily through two government programs: the Title X Family Planning Program and Medicaid and is prohibited from using any of that money to fund abortion services.

Anti-abortion activists claim that any federal funding of Planned Parenthood enables the group to keep from using resources for abortion services. Good! The services Planned Parenthood provides that are federally funded are highly effective at preventing unplanned pregnancies and abortion.

In 2009, Planned Parenthood received $360 million in federal grants and contracts. None of that money funded abortion. In fact, it’s estimated that Planned Parenthood prevents more than 600,000 unintended pregnancies every year. And no other provider, federally funded or not, is able to provide healthcare services to clients as inexpensively.

Richard Nixon recognized the costs to the country of unintended pregnancies and said “no American woman should be denied access to family planning assistance because of her economic condition.” It was true in 1970 and it’s true now.

So, I just don’t get why anyone, pro-choice or anti-abortion, would want to cut $360 million dollars to shrink a 17 trillion dollar deficit when that cut is guaranteed to increase costs in other areas.

13 Responses to “What I don’t get is this . . .”

  1. SocietyRed October 29, 2012 at 10:45 am #

    Morons don’t follow logic, they just make noise. Now where’s my shirt…

    • jmlindy422 October 29, 2012 at 10:48 am #

      I laughed! You’re funny! Thanks for dropping by, unfortunately, lots of morons vote. (Oooo! Did I really say that???)

  2. Creative Liar October 29, 2012 at 10:51 am #

    Great post. Also, I want to order one of those shirts.

  3. theartistryofthebipolarbrain October 29, 2012 at 11:00 am #

    Well said!

    As a woman, our current political climate here in the US terrifies me. But it certainly makes voting easier.

  4. Jim October 29, 2012 at 11:13 am #

    It’s because aliens have landed and infiltrated the Republican Party. I didn’t leave the GOP; the GOP left me.

  5. The Waiting October 29, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

    Attempting to fix the US deficit by cutting funding for Planned Parenthood makes about as much sense as attempting to fix it by cutting funding to PBS. Both are ridiculous.

    PS I love your rants.

    • jmlindy422 October 29, 2012 at 2:44 pm #

      Thanks, Emily. Bill Maher likened cutting Planned Parenthood and PBS to trying to lose weight by leaving the parsley off your plate. I’ll never look at parsley the same way.

    • jmlindy422 October 29, 2012 at 8:39 pm #

      Wonderful! My great sadness in all of this is that I feel I’m preaching to the choir when I talk about the personal consequences of political decisions. But, maybe someone out there is listening at just the right time and a difference is made. Thanks for the great article.

      • nevercontrary October 29, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

        Sadly I don’s speak out enough.
        Speak loud and you never know what will happen!

  6. todadwithlove October 29, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

    Cogent and eloquent! It’s not hard to guess which way you’re likely to vote. Hurrah!

    • jmlindy422 October 29, 2012 at 8:33 pm #

      Well, if you couldn’t guess my political leanings by now, I’m all out there with this post. Thanks.

  7. twistingthreads November 1, 2012 at 3:06 am #

    Why? Perhaps because the propaganda machine has been hard at work, confusing and deceiving people as to the true nature of Planned Parenthood and what it can use funding for, as well as the uses of contraception. If I hear one more person say, “I’m not going to pay for sluts to have sex,” I might just lose it on their…

    *Ahem. Sorry about that. What I meant to say is that contraception not only dramatically lowers unplanned pregnancies and abortions, but that it makes health insurance cheaper and more affordable to all. I shouldn’t even have to bring up the fact that contraception has far more medical uses than simply preventing pregnancy.

    You know all this, of course, but I don’t blame you at all for being flabbergasted when others are ignorant of these things, willfully or otherwise.

Leave a Reply

