My kids say funny stuff, too: Halloween Edition

30 Oct

Image: costumesupercenter.com

Halloween in Chicago is a dicey affair. You’re as likely to have foul weather as fair, but most often, the kids are trick or treating in hat, coat and mitten weather.

My daughter has chosen a vampire costume. It’s really kind of cute, complete with cape and stand-up collar. And it is sleeveless. Mommy would have made a very nice costume with nice warm long sleeves, but Mommy is big and dumb. All of Mommy’s ideas suck.

Big Dumb Mom: You should wear a long sleeve shirt under it. I’m afraid you’ll be cold.

Daughter: That’s dumb, Big Dumb Mom. Your ideas suck. (Ok, she didn’t really say that, but I can’t remember what sass came out of her mouth.)

Big Dumb Mom: Well, what will you do about the cold?

Daughter: I’ll just have to suffer the consequences of being cute.

Note: My kids say funny stuff, too is based on the fact that many, many moms have funny kids and post the funny things they say, but I owe a debt of gratitude to crudmykidssay.wordpress.com

Hers is one of the best funny kid stuff blogs out there and I’m humbled by her hilarious offspring.

17 Responses to “My kids say funny stuff, too: Halloween Edition”

  1. The Waiting October 30, 2012 at 9:56 am #

    Oh, the pains we endure for cuteness. This really brought a smile to my face ;D

  2. kelloggs77 October 30, 2012 at 10:08 am #

    I am torn. As a mom I sympathize with you. But as a closet fashionista wannabe, your daughter sadly makes sense to me. My husband often makes fun of me for enduring the pain caused by totally ridiculous but utterly beautiful shoes. It’s just one of the many crosses we women have to bear.

    • jmlindy422 October 30, 2012 at 10:28 am #

      I understand her point of view, but I also know that I will be trick or treating with her listening to her constant complaints as to how cold she is. Then she’ll whine at me. And I’ll shoot myself in the head. She is also dangerously close to my shoe size and covets some of the more expensive ones.

      • kelloggs77 October 30, 2012 at 3:43 pm #

        “Then she’ll whine at me. And I’ll shoot myself in the head.” That made me laugh. Really hard. Because I’ve been there.

  3. Cakes and Shakes... October 30, 2012 at 11:11 am #

    🙂 She sounds like she’s in the process of turning out just fine.

  4. Mary Rayis October 30, 2012 at 7:01 pm #

    That is so adorable! I have the same problem with Olivia. Girls’ costumes are notoriously flimsy. She might consider a nude bodysuit under her costume. Olivia wore one a few years ago when she was a genie with a bare midriff.

    • jmlindy422 October 30, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

      You are a fount of wisdom, Mary! I may convince her to wear a white shirt. Or many black. Thanks!

  5. lindyjayne October 30, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

    Thank you so much! And I feel your pain with the costume dilemma being from New England. Which is why I let The Ex come over to take them Trick or Treating while I sit on the porch with wine & throw candy at anything that comes up the walkway.

    • jmlindy422 October 30, 2012 at 10:39 pm #

      I’m all for throwing candy and that wine sounds good, too.

  6. todadwithlove October 30, 2012 at 10:17 pm #

    Well, I agree with the daughter on this one: being cute is worth the hardship. Sometimes, it’s mind over matter. The body finds a way of coping. And well. She will be just fine. Chill out, Clever Concerned mom.

    • jmlindy422 October 30, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

      Yeah, chilling is the problem! I’m going to record her whining about the weather and then you’ll be on my side!

  7. philosophermouseofthehedge November 1, 2012 at 11:12 am #

    Too cute to be cold. You certainly portrayed the reality of kids trying to train parents
    (…will she ever admit it?….please do a follow-up post!)

    • jmlindy422 November 1, 2012 at 11:30 am #

      She didn’t even wear it! She bundled up in a warm hoodie, put on her wings from last year’s angel of death costume (or something like that) and off she went with a friend. I’m taking the $25 for the vampire costume out of her allowance! Maybe.

      • philosophermouseofthehedge November 1, 2012 at 11:55 am #

        That’s hilarious

      • Mary Rayis November 1, 2012 at 12:05 pm #

        I had the same experience! The ruby slippers were uncomfortable, so she went as Dorothy in Uggs and a warm jacket!

      • jmlindy422 November 1, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

        I want pictures of Dorothy in Uggs!

Leave a Reply

