Paws to remember those who serve

27 May

military-working-dogMy uncle served in Korea. My husband’s father served in World War II. My grandmother’s brother served in WWII in England. My father, still alive, served in the Air Force. If he’d stayed in, he’d have gone to Vietnam. My brother served in the Navy and his daughter is serving now. I pray she doesn’t get deployed to a combat zone.

I know all of these people, except my father-in-law. I hear he would have liked me and I him.

But I didn’t know that there are unsung heroes of a different kind.

War dogs–canines who serve along with our soldiers, sailors, airmen (isn’t there a gender neutral term for those who protect the wild blue yonder) and Marines. They serve loyally, of course, and don’t have it great once their tour is over. My blog friend, Philosopher Mouse of the Hedge, puts is much more eloquently. Read his post here (and look at the cute pictures of dogs), then do what you can, if you can.

Janice

2 Responses to “Paws to remember those who serve”

  1. philosophermouseofthehedge May 27, 2013 at 1:20 pm #

    All they want is a tennis ball, a safe place to sleep at someone’s feet, and a kind word. They deserve all that and more. Thanks so much for spreading the word

    • jmlindy422 May 28, 2013 at 5:53 pm #

      There are so many animals I’d help if I could. The least I could do it a little PR.

Leave a comment