Fashionably late?

23 May

Ordinarily I post the funny things my kids have said on Tuesday, but I have a legitimate reason for not posting on Tuesday. I washed my cell phone on Monday, in the washing machine. Not on purpose. Actually, I washed my running skirt (post to come some day about running skirts) and the cell phone was neatly tucked away in a zippered pocket. Even letting it rest and dry out did not help, but the light show when I turned it on? Psychedelic, baby!

I spent Tuesday trying to get AT&T to put my son, my daughter and I on my husband’s account. I now hate AT&T. Verizon wanted to keep me so I got an iPhone, better cable service and cheaper landline. They even sent me a thank you note! I am so easily pleased.

I realize I owe none of you an excuse for not posting on my own blog ’cause “it’s my blog and I should only post when the muse moves me and blah, blah, blah.” But, I was raised by a Southern woman; I will apologize if you stub your toe.

On to the funny bit.

My daughter changed her clothes after school then stood in my office door and asked, “Mommy, does it look like fashion threw up on me?”

You be the judge:

IMG_2051

 

23 Responses to “Fashionably late?”

  1. lucewriter May 23, 2013 at 10:43 am #

    My opinion: she would look cute in anything, so I have no answer. Hard to get past the image of a running skirt, though. What the heck is a running skirt? It sounds like an oxymoron.

    • jmlindy422 May 23, 2013 at 10:56 am #

      A running skirt, I’ve found, can be a woman’s best friend. I was slow to embrace the skirt, but now I love it. I’ll have to blog about it.

  2. Teri McCormick Hinton (/gr May 23, 2013 at 10:44 am #

    Nope. Throwing up looks like what I have on today. No pictures will be posted. Your beautiful daughter looks like she could get away with anything and look beautiful.

    • jmlindy422 May 23, 2013 at 10:57 am #

      She really could, but so could your girls! Unfortunately, my beautiful daughter’s bedroom looks like it threw up.

  3. dirtyrottenparenting May 23, 2013 at 11:02 am #

    Um, is it good or bad if you look like a fashion show has thrown up on you? Throw up sounds bad but fashion show sounds good.

    • jmlindy422 May 23, 2013 at 1:08 pm #

      Pretty sure it depends on the outfit. This outfit? I think the fashion vomit worked out great. I have another picture though from an earlier time where she looks like a cross between a baglady, a hooker and your grandma. It’s special.

  4. Mary Rayis May 23, 2013 at 11:18 am #

    Love the socks! She’s a fashionista! We’ve got to get our girls together!

    • jmlindy422 May 23, 2013 at 1:06 pm #

      Amen. I’ll email you. Summer good?

      • Mary Rayis May 23, 2013 at 2:45 pm #

        Yes, let’s make it happen.

  5. sherri May 23, 2013 at 11:56 am #

    So cute and so funny again. we’re a lot alike, I’m easily pleased too! Abby looks like my exchange students with those long socks up to her knee’s – is that the new style, is Japan ahead of us? That is my guess. I think that I’ll buy some groovy new socks & high tops are back in, but they are different than what you/I would think. I saw a pair at Woodfield while shopping with my Japanese Exchange students who either 1) came from rich families (my guess) or 2) the exchange rate is amazing. They kept spending money and they told me that they “no study hard”. No wonder their English wasn’t that great, 🙂 Congrat’s on your son’s Trig portion of the ACT! 🙂

    • sherri May 23, 2013 at 11:58 am #

      I kept saying “the burbs really expect a lot from their kids & make them study hard”. I said “you study hard”. they burst out laughing and said “no study hard”. We all just laughed so hard! My uncle said “no wonder their English isn’t great!”.

    • jmlindy422 May 23, 2013 at 1:10 pm #

      Thanks, Sherri. I think the knee socks are definitely a thing. You can get them by the handful at Target. Her shirt is Gap and I”m pretty sure the shorts are, too. Those high-heel hightops are scary! And I know what you mean about the studying hard thing. All of my students are from India. Their parents enroll them for extra work even though most of them are straight A students. You and I can’t comprehend!

  6. The Hook May 23, 2013 at 2:52 pm #

    I like her outfit! But then again, what do I know?

    • jmlindy422 May 23, 2013 at 3:03 pm #

      You’ve seen people handcuffed to a bed. You’ve seen everything. I like her outfit, too!

  7. The Waiting May 23, 2013 at 6:49 pm #

    I love how your post is tagged “I hate AT&T.” She looks adorable.

    • jmlindy422 May 24, 2013 at 6:06 pm #

      I believe in truth in advertising. Yes, she is pretty darn cute. Thanks.

  8. todadwithlove May 23, 2013 at 10:06 pm #

    I love it. The post, and the outfit. I want to dress like that! 😀

    • jmlindy422 May 24, 2013 at 6:07 pm #

      You can dress like that. All you need is Gap Kids and Target. The socks are super cheap at Target. Fitting in the Gap Kids clothes? You have to figure that out!

  9. kelloggs77 May 24, 2013 at 8:13 pm #

    You had me at “I now hate AT&T.” Don’t even get me started. Your daughter, however, I love.

    • jmlindy422 May 25, 2013 at 12:10 pm #

      I could probably write an entire post about my experience with AT&T on Tuesday, but I’m letting go of the negative…for a little while. I love my daughter, too. She’s pretty funny even when she’s being obnoxious.

      • kelloggs77 May 27, 2013 at 1:12 pm #

        My AT&T saga lasted almost two years. Despite that, we just recently switched to U-Verse and again had an abominable experience with the set up. Okay…I’m getting all worked up… I need to go sit in a corner and breathe slowly.

  10. wantonwordflirt June 15, 2013 at 1:16 am #

    I think your daughter looks adorable….but I love that line! Enjoying your blog – I look forward to reading more! I can definitely relate to your posts……love your sense of humour!

    • jmlindy422 June 18, 2013 at 11:46 am #

      Thanks. Nice to have you here on the Snide side of life.

Leave a Reply

