Why I’m sick of the self-esteem blame game

19 Mar

Here’s my column for the week at Naperville Patch, where I write about anything parenting related. This week, I write about “Am I Pretty?” videos that tween and teen girls are posting on YouTube.

http://patch.com/A-r9k4

4 Responses to “Why I’m sick of the self-esteem blame game”

  1. keynoncoaching March 19, 2012 at 12:15 pm #

    If we help our children develop self worth, they will inherently develop self esteem! Keeping the focus off of the superficial, helping them to focus on who they are at their core and encouraging them to be their ‘best selves’ is the ultimate in building self esteem.

  2. philosophermouseofthehedge March 19, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

    Great post you linked us to there – right on target. Stop all the praise for nothing. Encourage all kids to try something – even fail and then get up and try again with a different strategy – working hard to accomplish something – overcoming doubts and obstacles – that’s when kids feel good about themselves and empowered. Good job!

    • jmlindy422 March 19, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

      Thanks! My son was in Little League for three years. The first two, he had one of those coaches that the kids he coaches and their parents absolutely adore but that the parents of the other team hate. He pushed our kids and he fought against umps and he loved those kids to death. They won two championships. The third year, he coached the traveling team and my son had a coach who applauded the kids no matter what they did. They could stand like a stump at the the plate and he’d say, “Wow! Timmy! Look at you standing there! Good job!” My son quit.

Leave a comment