You can help a crazy mother out

11 Oct

I’ve got a confession to make. I’ve been cheating on you. Well, not you, exactly; I’ve been cheating on Snide Reply.

See, instead of writing about my life, it’s ups and downs, the funny things my kids are doing, the obscene things my iPad is saying, the people who are driving me crazy, I’ve been writing about being crazy. And I’ve been doing it somewhere else.

But I’m ready for you to join me there.

Yesterday, I launched a new blog that I hope will grow into a thriving digital community where parents who have mental illnesses can go to find help, information, entertainment and camaraderie.

It’s called Crazy Good Parent and it was born out of my own frustration at not being able to find the kind of information I need as someone with bipolar disorder who is trying to be the best parent she can. There is plenty of Internet help for parents, for people with mental illness, and for people parenting people with mental illness. But we parents managing kids, work, family, marriage, etc., while also managing our minds? Well, we’re not really feeling the love on the Web.

So, I started my own hangout for people like me—crazygoodparent.com. Come on over and bring your crazy mother (and father) friends, too.

Janice

14 Responses to “You can help a crazy mother out”

  1. scribblechic October 11, 2013 at 10:14 am #

    I think you are crazy awesome and I love this brave, beautiful gift of self that is going to foster compassion and understanding.

    • jmlindy422 October 11, 2013 at 11:15 am #

      I am so fortunate to have you in my life. Thank you.

  2. Luanne October 11, 2013 at 12:21 pm #

    I must be crazy. I can’t find the link!

    • jmlindy422 October 11, 2013 at 3:25 pm #

      Crap! Working on that. The link was there this morning.

    • jmlindy422 October 11, 2013 at 3:27 pm #

      Links restored. You were not crazy.

  3. thestick81 October 11, 2013 at 4:57 pm #

    Look forward to it. I’m sure there will be a lot I can relate to!

  4. AreYouFinishedYet October 11, 2013 at 6:06 pm #

    I’ve been wondering where you were 🙂 I’ve been missing your posts. But good for you for taking the reigns and starting up a new resource!

    • jmlindy422 October 11, 2013 at 8:35 pm #

      I know I sort of dropped off the planet for a while. My dad’s illness escalated and I went back to finish my degree. I spent a really helacious summer doing an 11 week research class in 6 weeks. Fun! (Not) Then, my dad started declining even more quickly and, Tuesday of last week, he died. Still kind of reeling from the release of that; I’ve been devoting every Sunday for more than a year now to seeing dad in the nursing home. It’s weird being “free.”

      Looking forward to having the Crazy Parent thing up and running. I don’t plan on writing long form for it on a regular basis. I’d like to expand my circle of crazy parents who are making it! Let them share the blogging load. BTW, if you’d like to contribute….I’m not implying that you’re nuts or anything, but you never know unless you ask, right?

      • AreYouFinishedYet October 12, 2013 at 1:42 pm #

        Oh, I’m hella nuts. But none of that has anything to do with the anxiety attacks I’ve suffered from 🙂 I would love to contribute sometime. Thank you for asking.

        I am so sorry to hear about your dad. You have prayers coming your way.

  5. philosophermouseofthehedge October 14, 2013 at 3:16 pm #

    Everyone is crazy in some way – most just cover it well – or people never notice.
    So sorry about your dad – I know what you mean about suddenly feeling a weird “free”…and avery so often you have a thought pop up and “I should tell dad that or do this for dad”
    Will wander your other way – and plan on letting a few others know…in blog land I’ve found sometimes people are circling on different orbits without running into each other and they should…..RC of course feels she belongs EVERYWHERE and that it’s not crazy…we dare not try to get her to think otherwise…..

    • jmlindy422 October 15, 2013 at 12:18 am #

      Oh, if only RC were a parent. She could write some good crazy! Thanks for spreading the word.

  6. The Hook October 15, 2013 at 8:59 am #

    On my way over to the new forum now….

Leave a Reply

