School’s NOT out for summer

24 Jun

At least, not for me. Today is the first day of the last class required to complete my Master of Arts in Teaching. It’s an 11-week course smushed into six weeks. I don’t think I’m going to have bunches of time to post, but I’ll try.

Wish me luck and I’ll see you on the flip side.

 

21 Responses to “School’s NOT out for summer”

  1. Joe June 24, 2013 at 9:25 am #

    Good Luck! Study hard, learn lots.

  2. scribblechic June 24, 2013 at 9:32 am #

    Good luck!

  3. Luanne June 24, 2013 at 9:35 am #

    We’re rooting for you. Wait, that word looks wrong. Rooting? Sounds like we’re rooting around in the ground looking for food. Anyway, give it your all and it will be over before you know it (my mother’s wise words).

    • jmlindy422 June 27, 2013 at 11:47 pm #

      I feel like it’s going quickly already and it just started. Thanks fort the good wishes,

  4. Teri McCormick Hinton (/gr June 24, 2013 at 9:39 am #

    You go, girl! This is terrific!

  5. The Waiting June 24, 2013 at 6:24 pm #

    Good luck! You will no doubt rock it.

    • jmlindy422 June 27, 2013 at 11:46 pm #

      Thanks. So far, I’m doing ok. Only one anxiety attack this week..

  6. philosophermouseofthehedge June 25, 2013 at 2:01 pm #

    You will be terrific – creativity will spill over to your students.
    Don’t worry – we’ll check back by – just stick in a picture or something so we know you are at least treading water?
    Enjoy it!

    • jmlindy422 June 27, 2013 at 11:43 pm #

      I may have to post a picture of the cherry tree. The cherries are ripening and will be gone if I wait another month to photograph them.

  7. jo11annej June 26, 2013 at 7:34 pm #

    Congratulations on tackling the final course for your Master’s degree. From the way you write about human foibles with humour and sensitivity, I think you must be a special teacher already.

    • jmlindy422 June 27, 2013 at 11:42 pm #

      Thanks. Not sure i deserve such high praise, but my students seem to like me.

  8. nevercontrary June 27, 2013 at 1:02 pm #

    Hey I am in my last course for my masters that is also squished into six weeks. Damn we are like best internet friends.

    • jmlindy422 June 27, 2013 at 2:36 pm #

      I know! I just read your long-overdue post and took heart. I’ve got five weeks left and then I can FINALLY say I have a Master’s degree instead of “well, I kind of have a Master’s degree. I just have to finish one last class.” Good luck best internet friend! I wanna meet you and hug your babies. I don’t mean that in an icky sense. Really. (Can you tell I’m a little manic today????)

      • nevercontrary June 28, 2013 at 8:27 am #

        Oh if I am up in your neck of the woods we shall totally meet up and it will be like a slow motion movie where we run across the beach with arms open wide, that or really awkward.

  9. Danny Breslin July 2, 2013 at 9:39 am #

    All the best.

  10. philosophermouseofthehedge July 2, 2013 at 1:33 pm #

    Just galloping by to see if you flipped yet. Glad you are finishing that last class – if for no other reason it was a long road to that point – might as well box it up.

    • jmlindy422 July 2, 2013 at 2:57 pm #

      Exactly! I don’t anticipate getting a classroom position, not based on what’s been going on with hiring in Illinois. But I’ll be able to say I have a Master’s Degree. And, yes, I have flipped. Having an anxiety attack as I write! Thanks for checking in.

  11. SingingTuna August 2, 2013 at 3:24 pm #

    Wooohoooo! That’s so cool!!!!
    So exciting! I’m wishing you luck, but I suspect you don’t need really it. Save if for another day.
    😀

Leave a Reply

