Play ball!

30 Apr
soccer player

Photo: Nike

Last night, one of my first graders looked up at me with his huge warm eyes and said, “Miss Janice, I was tricked today.”

“Oh,” I said, “How were you tricked?”

“Some other boys were talking about balls and they were telling me to talk about balls, too.  And so I told them that I like balls and they laughed.”

He hesitated. I thought he might cry.

“And then I found out they weren’t talking about soccer balls. They were talking about private balls.”

 

6 Responses to “Play ball!”

  1. Ashley Austrew April 30, 2013 at 3:49 pm #

    Hahaha! Aww…poor little guy!

  2. philosophermouseofthehedge April 30, 2013 at 4:36 pm #

    It could have been worse – he didn’t talk about CInderella and the prince at the public ball.
    Being a kid is so difficult! Strangers in a strange land….one that’s getting stranger all the time?

  3. Madame Weebles April 30, 2013 at 4:53 pm #

    I guess I didn’t know that boys talked about private balls at that age…

    • jmlindy422 May 6, 2013 at 8:59 pm #

      I suspect the other boys were older. Poor boy. He’s so darling.

  4. scribblechic April 30, 2013 at 5:55 pm #

    There really is no winning in such a game.

    • jmlindy422 May 6, 2013 at 8:59 pm #

      Nope. He seems to be pretty resilient, though.

Leave a Reply

