Pants on fire

16 Apr

PantsOnFireTwo bits of background are necessary for today’s entry in “my kids say the darnedest things.” I regularly lose my glasses. I don’t need them to read, so take them off any time reading is required. So, I find them in the kitchen, the bathroom, on my nightstand, in the key bowl. Really, just about anywhere in the house.

At the same time, my daughter has developed a penchant for fooling us by telling blatant untruths. Things like, “Mommy, I failed math this semester.” I am rather gullible and frequently fall for her foolery.

About two weeks ago, I was on yet another hunt for my eye wear. Exasperated at my failed attempts, I asked my family for help.

“Have you seen my glasses?” I asked.

“Geez, Mom,” my daughter replied, “they’re on top of your head!”

“Really?” I asked my husband, and reached for the top of my head.

“Don’t listen to her!” was his response. “She’s a liar!”

Leave a Reply

