More humor from my son that’s fit to print!

12 Mar

I’m paying more attention to my son, for a number of reasons, but one big one is to find humor nuggets from him that aren’t completely obscene. Here’s one:

My daughter loves to play board games. My husband loves to sit alone in front of his computer and play hearts. My son loves to play video games. I like board games in principal, but they bring out a competitive spirit in me that makes Lance Armstrong look like a pansy. I don’t like to sulk for three days after losing Monopoly, so I avoid board games.

One day, my daughter was looking for a board game partner. She asked me but I graciously declined. She asked her brother, who ungraciously declined. Indignant, she huffed, “Then, I’ll ask Daddy.” My son responded, “He’s playing with himself.”

11 Responses to “More humor from my son that’s fit to print!”

  1. The Waiting March 12, 2013 at 12:52 pm #

    The question is, was he aware of his double-entendre?

    • jmlindy422 March 12, 2013 at 1:01 pm #

      Oh, I’m sure he was! We used to joke that every day he’d say something that would make me tell him to shut up.

  2. Mary Rayis March 12, 2013 at 2:42 pm #

    What a great kid! Send him over. He’ll fit right in with my 15-year-old and 19-year-old sons.

    • jmlindy422 March 12, 2013 at 3:14 pm #

      We should get them together with my sister’s sons. All we’d have to do is set up a camera and rake in the dough.

      • Mary Rayis March 12, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

        MTV here they come!

  3. todadwithlove March 12, 2013 at 4:57 pm #

    This reminds me of another anecdote: my uncle was (and still is) a talented organist. He used to spend hours practising on the instrument. So, when friends came over to my grandmother’s house many years ago one day, and asked, “Where’s Stephen?”, my granny replied, matter-of-factly, “Well, guess what, he’s playing with his organ again.”

  4. philosophermouseofthehedge March 12, 2013 at 6:11 pm #

    HA! Certainly not bored here.
    (I hate board games – my brother was a “take no quarter” ruthless player. Just too intense…knew all the rules, too…what fun is that?)

    • Mary Rayis March 12, 2013 at 9:01 pm #

      I love board games but am not very competitive or good at strategy. I like trivia and word games. Bananagrams anyone?

  5. mindfulgirl7 March 13, 2013 at 12:37 pm #

    Priceless!

  6. Madame Weebles March 14, 2013 at 3:31 pm #

    If I had heard that, I don’t think I’d stop laughing for a good long time. I bet your kids have perfect comedy timing, too, in addition to just saying funny stuff.

    • jmlindy422 March 14, 2013 at 6:44 pm #

      They do have excellent timing. Sometimes, when my son and I are out shopping or something, people will stop to listen to our dialogue. I am not making that up. Of course, sometimes they are listening to us bicker, too. Did I blog about the time I said, “Are you high?” to my 9-yo daughter when she wanted me to buy her two Halloween size bags of candy. Oh, yeah, I’m an terrific mom. It got a pretty good laugh from the other shoppers in aisle 7.

Leave a Reply

