Happy International Women’s Day

8 Mar

My gift to you this IWD are the following tweets, in the order they appeared in my feed. This is by way of amusing you (I hope), demonstrating my lack of dinosaurosity (I may be old, but I know a hashtag when I see one), and putting together a really quick post so I can go back to recovering from the chaos that is home improvement and writing about my miserable childhood (to be published some day, perhaps soon).

@craigkielburger:

Around the world, women spend 200 hours a day cumulatively collecting water. #internationalwomensday

@JimmyChooLtd:

Wishing all women around the globe a happy #internationalwomensday.

I’ll leave you with the happy image of women, water jugs on their heads, tottering through the third world in their Jimmy Choos.

7 Responses to “Happy International Women’s Day”

  1. The Waiting March 8, 2013 at 5:55 pm #

    That is an incredible mental picture. It kind of takes “third world problems” to a hole new level.

    • The Waiting March 8, 2013 at 5:56 pm #

      *whole. Jebus.

      • jmlindy422 March 8, 2013 at 6:38 pm #

        But I liked “hole new level.” It made a strange sort of sense in a non-sensical (did I just make up a word or is my brain mush and I can’t spell) way.

  2. Mary Rayis March 8, 2013 at 5:59 pm #

    Thanks for that perspective, Janice. Life doesn’t seem so hard for me.

  3. Kathy Eynon, RN,CCM, CTACC March 13, 2013 at 10:46 am #

    Great mental picture. Don’t know that I could walk in Choos without landing on my face! And about this question that everyone is talking about: What do women want? How can we lump us all in together?? I think that is what causes some of the angst for women. What if you don’t want what society decides women want? Just sayin’…..

Leave a Reply

