There’s no day like a snow day

5 Mar

snow_woman_352_352x470This morning, at 5:30, I was woken by the call I most dread, the one from my school district with the joyous news that my children will be home with me . . .all day . . .bored . . .and whining.

My daughter bounded up from the breakfast table, into her snow pants and out the door to make snowmen. Yes, they are still called snowmen; snow people just sounds so wrong.

We live one suburban back yard away from a huge barren depression in the landscape retention field where the neighborhood children sled. My daughter started her part of the snowman in our back yard; her friend started the other part in her backyard. The intent was to meet in the field for assembly.

“How’s your snow man?” I asked my daughter on her return.

“Oh, by the time I got to the field, my part was so heavy we couldn’t lift it, so we just left the parts next to each other and made snow boobs.”

11 Responses to “There’s no day like a snow day”

  1. todadwithlove March 5, 2013 at 4:37 pm #

    That’s the sexiest snow-(wo)man I have ever seen! And I do love those boobs.

    • jmlindy422 March 6, 2013 at 9:07 am #

      She’s special, isn’t she? She’s in (or was) Essex, England. Far too risque for America.

  2. Mary Rayis March 5, 2013 at 7:19 pm #

    No snow day here – just endless shoveling!

    • jmlindy422 March 6, 2013 at 9:08 am #

      I’m sorry! We were here all day with whining and home improvement. I’m so relieved to have my quiet home back. I can’t take all the noise and activity for too long.

  3. philosophermouseofthehedge March 6, 2013 at 8:03 pm #

    My mom was a teacher – and we loved having a day to stay home and not having to pack lunches and rush around in the morning – but days off rarely happen here except for hurricane season or maybe a Jan/Feb sleet or ice storm….with both of those, it was no going outside to have fun.
    This was a really cute snow story ..it sounds like fun from here (but the whining and underfootedness – not so much!)

  4. The Hook March 7, 2013 at 8:09 am #

    Hilarious!

    • jmlindy422 March 7, 2013 at 9:56 am #

      Oh, I would hate a “snow day” without snow! If I’m in the right mood, a snow day can mean frosty kids coming back home to warm cookies, but we’re also having new floors put it, so the house is a dusty chaotic mess. Pop on up for a snow day whenever you like!

      • The Hook March 7, 2013 at 10:00 am #

        Thanks!

    • jmlindy422 March 7, 2013 at 9:57 am #

      Thanks! Since the first boob day, they’ve added a number of other boobs and have named several pairs. They have Jennifer Lawrence, Beyonce and Katie Perry. They have a single boob that I suggested they name Seth McFarlane.

      • The Hook March 7, 2013 at 9:59 am #

        I stand corrected… That was truly hilarious!

  5. mindfulgirl7 March 9, 2013 at 12:06 am #

    That’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

