My son said something funny I can write about!

12 Feb

 

 

I’ve said numerous times that my son’s sense of humor is so obscene that I can’t write most of what he says. I attempt to keep my blog relatively family friendly and he tends to use far too many F-words for print. A while ago, though, he uttered the following gem.

My daughter and her friend were in the back seat, singing along to a favorite song. It was something kind of Selena Gomez-ish or maybe it was Call Me Maybe. Regardless, they were young girls and sang in those screechingly high, thin voices that make even in-tune singing painful to hear. The girls were not singing in tune. It wasn’t bothering me as I will accept just about any sound that isn’t whining. My son, however, is a musician.

“My god, Mom,” he said, “It sounds like somebody’s grabbed a camel by the testicles!”

 

19 Responses to “My son said something funny I can write about!”

  1. Nikki February 12, 2013 at 10:43 am #

    Hilarious! Read all your posts but genuinely look forward to the ones about your son. Beg you to post more, including F-bomb versions!

    • jmlindy422 February 12, 2013 at 7:18 pm #

      Well, it’s not just the F-bombs that are a problem. He’s also very physical and does impersonations that are hilarious and difficult to translate into words. There is one story that practically leaves me wetting my pants. I’ll try to write it, but it puts me in a questionable position as a parent.

  2. The Waiting February 12, 2013 at 11:30 am #

    Telling it like it is! Love it!

    • jmlindy422 February 12, 2013 at 7:17 pm #

      And you’ll get to hear that sound in the not too distant future! My days with it are almost done.

      • The Waiting February 12, 2013 at 7:18 pm #

        I can see where he gets his honesty 😉

  3. sukanyabora February 12, 2013 at 11:56 am #

    Needed a laugh, thank you. I am stuck with the image of a camel’s testicular grab!

    • jmlindy422 February 12, 2013 at 7:16 pm #

      Oh, I’m so sorry! That’s quite an image. You should go wash your eyeballs.

  4. philosophermouseofthehedge February 12, 2013 at 11:59 am #

    No doubt the girls were bouncing and making extremely expressive faces while singing….and brother probably had something astute to say about that, too.
    That kid is funny – keep him around!

    • jmlindy422 February 12, 2013 at 7:16 pm #

      I think I will. He’s definitely a bright spot in my life.

  5. sweetmother February 12, 2013 at 12:01 pm #

    hilarious! LOVED. xo, sm

  6. kelloggs77 February 12, 2013 at 12:19 pm #

    I remember before we had kids, my husband and I walked past a little girls’ softball game. There is a lot of screeching and squealing in little girls’ sports. He thought that was just about the most terrible sound he had ever heard. I believe he made the comment, “We are never having girls.” Now, he coaches my daughter’s basketball team. Ha!

    • jmlindy422 February 12, 2013 at 7:15 pm #

      Young girls are VERY different from big girls. I am looking forward to the bigger girl phase, though I’m sure it will include even more critique of my clothes, my body, my friends, etc., etc.

  7. crispyindeed February 12, 2013 at 1:01 pm #

    Lmao! Too funny.

    • jmlindy422 February 12, 2013 at 7:14 pm #

      Thanks, though it should be my son thanking you.

  8. scribblechic February 12, 2013 at 4:18 pm #

    Big brothers are often gifted in the art of sarcasm. I remember when our daughter was in Kindergarten there was a classroom song that found its way to our living room. Watching my son’s discomfort I reminded him how nice it was that his sister wanted to share something from her school day. His response: Why are they teaching her to be annoying?

    Loved this post.

  9. MuseWriter February 13, 2013 at 10:07 am #

    If you choose to participate, I nominate you for the Versatile Blogger Award: http://musewriter.wordpress.com/2013/02/13/the-versatile-blogger/

    Cheers! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. You Can’t Catch Me… ner…oh… | Musings of a FlutterbyBear - February 17, 2013

    […] 2. Snide Reply […]

Leave a Reply

