Where’s Janice?

14 Jan

You may have noticed that I have not posted anything other than my daughter’s smart aleck  remarks in a while. This is largely due to the shit bucket that my life has become. Not only were my children on a break long enough to make it appear as if going to school were the break, but my husband was also on the same schedule. He has a tendency to not use up vacation days until the last minute, the last minute being the week between Christmas and New Year’s and whatever straggly bits there are because Christmas landed on a Wednesday or some nonsense like that.

Finally, every one went to school/work and I had my life back. I made progress on my website, I ran, I identified companies to target for writing assignments, I read “The Outsiders” for work (how cool is that?).

Four days after my real life began again, my husband came home from work early. He came home so early, in fact, that my daughter and I were still in bed. I was convinced a prowler had entered our home so locked the bedroom door. I heard footsteps on the stairs and grabbed the phone when the door knob jiggled.

“Why is the door locked?” came my husband’s voice.

“Because I thought you were a prowling rapist thief!”

Turns out my husband did not throw his back out, but was passing a kidney stone. A rather large one, apparently. Six millimeters for those of you in the know. Two trips to the ER later, he had a disgusting sounding procedure that had me thinking of Luke Skywalker shooting into the Death Star. Actually, the doctor inserted a camera/laser thingie, located the stone and blasted it into chips. I’m hoping husband will be home soon, but then he’s likely to be HOME, not at work, for a while. Sigh. This is all about me, you know.

In the interim, I’d like to introduce you to a friend of mine and her blog. Emily, author of “Not the hardest part,” chronicles her adventures as mom to one of the cutest babies in the world. She’s kinda sassy, has more than one degree in English and is therefore immensely cool.

Here’s a link to Emily’s latest post. Make sure to click around on her blog and find those adorable baby pictures.

My Essay on Eloise.

14 Responses to “Where’s Janice?”

  1. SocietyRed January 14, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

    Ouch!

  2. philosophermouseofthehedge January 14, 2013 at 4:12 pm #

    Oh I can identify with this line: “Four days after my real life began again”
    Glad the starwars treatment is available – nasty stuff kidney stones.
    Sending a bucket of patience which may come in handy?
    (Once again life suspended…but we’ll wait – take care and get some rest!)

  3. Emily @ The Waiting January 14, 2013 at 6:15 pm #

    One of my friends in college had a kidney stone once, and my experience of being on the opposite side of the bathroom door when he finally passed it lets me know that they are kind of the male equivalent of giving birth unmedicated. Hope hubby’s on the mend and that you’ll get back to life as usual soon.

    Thanks for the shout-out!

    • jmlindy422 January 18, 2013 at 11:04 am #

      You’re welcome. I hope you got even a tiny bump. Husband’s experience confirms my choice of an epidural.

  4. nevercontrary January 14, 2013 at 7:20 pm #

    I do hope your new year is a great one.

    • jmlindy422 January 15, 2013 at 10:51 am #

      Oh, man, you’re not the only one!

  5. todadwithlove January 14, 2013 at 8:09 pm #

    I’ve missed you!

    • jmlindy422 January 15, 2013 at 10:52 am #

      I’m sorry. I’ve missed writing. Hoping to be able to get back to it soon on a regular basis.

  6. Mad Queen Linda January 15, 2013 at 9:28 am #

    Good luck with all of that!

  7. sherri January 18, 2013 at 9:13 am #

    Thanks for the laugh & yes, I can totally relate! I laughed out loud when i read the part where you locked yourself in the bedroom, thinking that Alan was an intruder!

    • jmlindy422 January 18, 2013 at 11:05 am #

      Thanks, Sherri. I wish I was laughing out loud! Maybe soon.

Leave a Reply

