Step right up and get your grievances!

21 Dec

a6d4a0d43dbea0d42f5d672a570a21e7Once upon a time, I was a loyal Seinfeld viewer; I’m still known to say, “No soup for you!” But eventually, Elaine Benes wore me down. Unable to take anymore of her self-involved whining, I stopped watching. This explains why I am probably the last person in my blogosphere to know about Festivus, the holiday for the rest of us.

While I come to the Festivus party late—far too late to be fashionable—it seems to be a holiday tailor-made for me. Among the holiday’s traditions is the airing of grievances. In my mind, grievances call for a rant, and I do so love a rant, so here we go!

Stop saying you’re “so depressed” when you’re sad. Depression isn’t just being sad. Depression is being unable to get out of bed, thinking the world would be better off without you, wanting to just fade away. Depression is sitting on the couch convinced that life is pointless, not sitting on the couch eating a quart of ice cream crying. Sad is painful but knows that life will get better; depression doesn’t.

If I promise to only use the term “ big beautiful woman” to refer to big beautiful women, can we promise not to call thin women “skinny bitches?” Really, why is it any more politically correct to malign the thin than the overweight? See? I can’t even bring myself to type the f-word, the one that rhymes with “cat,” not that other one.

No more tailgating. Just no. Never. Ok? I sort of understand it in the far left lane on the highway. But in my neighborhood? Where the speed limit is 40 mph? And there are children and golden retrievers running into the street chasing after soccer balls? I’m gonna brake for Lassie, butthole, so just keep your Hummer off my tail.

Christmas lights! Stringing five different colors of lights end to end and then hanging them in a straight line that extends from the edge of the garage, over the top of the front door and then drapes across the row of hedges in front of your living room windows is not decorating. It’s not even redneck; it’s not even Honey Boo Boo redneck. And a string of lights is not an extension cord. We clear on that?

Everyone in my family who empties the kitchen trash: put another bag in the can. And, if you don’t, you don’t get to laugh at Mommy when she swears after dropping a handful of disgusting into the unlined can.

While we’re on family issues . . . darling children, why should Mommy help you clean the toxic waste dumps you call your rooms? You have no idea how little I care if you can’t find your panda pajamas or the T-shirt that your girlfriend likes to wear because it smells like you.  In my time, mothers closed the door on their children’s messes. I am not about to dishonor my mother’s advice and she’s dead so she can’t tell you that her mother cleaned her room every day. I am nobody’s grandmother, though you love reminding me that I’m old enough to have birthed half of your friends’ parents. By the way, this does not make Mommy want to clean your room, either.

And last, but not least, can we put the Christmas/Xmas/Holidays thing to rest? Nobody’s trying to take the Christ out of Christmas by using Xmas. Actually, didn’t Christmas start out without Christ in it? So really, were putting Christ in Christmas every year. I’m just sayin’.

That brings us to holiday greetings. Can’t say “Merry Christmas” because it tends to leave out the people who celebrate Hanukkah, Diwali, Kwanza, though I’m not sure that’s supposed to be “merry” so much as meaningful. There’s “Happy Holidays.” While it’s inclusive–probably too inclusive for atheists–it’s kind of wishy-washy. Naturally, we could say “Happy Festivus” but I’m pretty sure that leaves more people than in includes. Besides, most of my friends would just look at me with a blank stare. Okay, I’m kind of used to that, but I don’t like to knowingly solicit it.

I was going to propose we say “Peace be with you,” but that reminds me of that oh-so-uncomfortable moment in church services where you are forced encouraged to greet the people around you. If I wanted to say something to them, I would have. Don’t make me clasp their hand and try to say something sincere when all I can think of is the germs that are getting spread at the height of flu season.

I don’t like to point out a problem and not have a solution, but I don’t have anything witty or profound to say in place of “have a good one” during the holiday season. But I have a great idea for what to think:

Peace on Earth, good will to all. May you live in safety and be happy.

14 Responses to “Step right up and get your grievances!”

  1. lucewriter December 21, 2012 at 11:54 am #

    And here I thought I was the only person who HATED being forced to shake hands and greet the stranger next to me when it’s not the appropriate time for sociability. I can’t believe you don’t have the Seinfeld canon memorized. I can find an episode to illustrate every situation ;).

    • jmlindy422 December 21, 2012 at 12:25 pm #

      If I had the time, I would look into the Festivus episode. Sounds like I might have to!

      • lucewriter December 21, 2012 at 12:43 pm #

        It’s a good one, but then I love Jerry Stiller.

  2. Jim Parks December 21, 2012 at 11:57 am #

    Very funny rant in observance of Festivus. Too bad you missed celebrating so many before you learned of it. An interesting thing about the greeting neighbors in church thing – now that I’ve done it so regularly and for so long, it’s no longer uncomfortable and doesn’t seem to be for most of those I greet. I wish you and your family have a good one!

  3. Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher December 21, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

    Ha ha – I like Xmas b/c it’s faster to write…and I’m lazy…

    • jmlindy422 December 21, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

      Some of my favorite people are lazy.

  4. kelloggs77 December 21, 2012 at 11:30 pm #

    Merry Whatever! And by the way, we actually have a Festivus pole. And we bring it out every Christmas. That episode is worth watching.

  5. quartermisses December 22, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

    I was very concerned when I first read your grievance with tailgating… Until I realized you weren’t encouraging me to give up beer, grilled meat, and football.

    Also: Peace be with you reminds me of Star Wars. And that’s awesome. I vote we got with that one.

    • jmlindy422 December 23, 2012 at 9:44 am #

      I have been known to say, “May the force be with you” and my son often calls his sister “Young Padawan.”

  6. nevercontrary December 22, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

    When you said no more tailgating, I was all like, what??? No more drinking before football is she out of her mind? How am I supposed to get through the game without the food and booze. Then, I realized you meant driving. Face Palm.

    • jmlindy422 December 23, 2012 at 9:43 am #

      I have never tailgated, but it looks like so much fun! It’s too fucking cold to tailgate up here, at least for me. Plus, I haven’t been to a football game since the Bear’s Super Bowl year.

  7. philosophermouseofthehedge December 22, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

    This is just so darn funny i can’t stop giggling long enough to write something in response. So, I’ll just leave with this; may warmth and joy find your hearth and linger long. Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

