A moment of silence

14 Dec

Candle_stump_on_holderI was working on a post for today when my husband called. He had that “somebody’s died” heaviness in his voice, then he told me about the shooting in Connecticut. My post was, I had hoped, going to make you laugh. I don’t have it in me anymore. Running is my meditation, so I’m going to go run right now. I’ll probably cry, too.

8 Responses to “A moment of silence”

  1. Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher December 14, 2012 at 12:53 pm #

    Me too – my friend lives 2 miles from there – I’m devestated – I can’t cope and I can’t understand.

    • jmlindy422 December 14, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

      There is no way to understand this. As long as Americans love their guns more than their children, mass murder of children is possible.

  2. lucewriter December 14, 2012 at 1:17 pm #

    Thank you for the moment of silence. This is sort of a reponse to your last comment. We need to take away the guns, and we can secure ourselves more and more, but until we take care of the mentally ill in this country, the problem will grow worse. What is also sad (and I am physically sick from watching the news, as far as I am in Arizona) is that we are letting our mentally ill wander on the streets, homeless, and self-medicating with illegal and potentially deadly drugs.

    • jmlindy422 December 14, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

      As someone who would be considered mentally ill, I don’t see us taking better care of the mentally ill any time soon. There is so much misunderstanding of who is mentally ill and not much clamor to change that. We’ve been dumping the very seriously ill out of hospitals for years and, as you say, many of them wind up homeless. But we stigmatize even people like me. There is a distinct difference in how people view me when they don’t know that I am bipolar and then find out that I am. At least you and I are talking about it.

  3. Denise Hisey December 15, 2012 at 10:35 pm #

    It is an uphill battle with so many factors involved…What a beautiful thing to honor a moment of silence for those lost in this awful time.

    • jmlindy422 December 16, 2012 at 8:22 am #

      Thanks, Denise. You are so right.

  4. philosophermouseofthehedge December 18, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

    Tragic. Tragic. Just no words. Hugs

Leave a Reply

