Dear Dave Grohl

6 Dec

522343_506793776000458_45621637_nFirst, let me say this: you are one of my favorite rock stars.

You’re talented. With that guitar/drum/piano playing thing, hell, you could record an album all by yourself. Oh, wait, you did. See what I mean. Tal. En. Ted.

I love your music. No, let me rephrase. I freaking love your music. I don’t have a single running playlist that doesn’t include at least one Foo Fighters song. Your tempos and my cadence are a match made in heaven. That I run to “Walk” puts an “I’ve got a secret” smile on my face that makes the other runners jealous. Ok, they aren’t jealous. They look at me and think I’m nuts.

You would probably get my little inside joke, though, ‘cause you’re hilarious! Most of your videos have me laughing out loud. I love a guy who isn’t afraid to put on some braces, a wig with ponytails, and a dress for his art.

You’re resilient.  That whole Kurt Cobain thing could have really messed you up, but you got on with your life. And Nirvana? Hello! Way to entirely change the face of music in your own time. Good job, dude!

You are practically a rock god. And that’s my problem.

My son adores you. In fact, my son is the reason I know who you are at all. Because I don’t want to be listening to Jackson Brown and the Beatles in the nursing home, I’m up for hearing anything my son brings my way. And he brought you.

In addition to loving your music, my son sees himself in you. You play drums; my son plays drums. You play guitar; my son plays guitar. You care more about the music than the rock star trappings. My son cares more about the music than being a rock star.

You are, in short, my son’s hero, so I’d like you to do something for me. I know I’m about to sound like a narrow-minded suburban mom with a stick up my ass. Well, let me set you straight right now. I am a very broad-minded suburban mom with a stick up my ass. So here goes.

Please stop making jokes about how you dropped out of high school.

My son and I saw you on Chelsea Lately the other night. You were, in fact, the only reason we watched at all. The conversation went like this:

Chelsea: (after some preliminary chat) And you dropped out of high school!

You: Yeah! (that’s when you and Chelsea high-fived, even though Chelsea graduated from Livingston High School in 1993.)

Then you addressed the audience, saying, “Stay in school and don’t do drugs or you’ll end up like me!”

Dave, that is exactly what my son wants to do . . .end up like you. Never mind that you started playing in bands at 13. Never mind that you quit school to join Scream on their European tour at 17. Never mind that my son hasn’t played in a band yet. All he wants to do is play music; he has no interest in homework when he can pass the tests without studying or doing the “stupid busy work.” He has no interest in high school at all.

Dropping out of high school was the right thing for you to do. Your mom told you so. Dropping out of high school is not the right thing for my son.

When my son was younger, he wouldn’t eat vegetables. I told him, “I bet if Dave Grohl told you to eat your vegetables, you would.” “Mom,” he said, “I would eat my plate if Dave Grohl told me to.”

So, Dave, back off the drop out jokes. Whether you want to be or not, you are a role model.

Thanks!

Janice

19 Responses to “Dear Dave Grohl”

  1. kelloggs77 December 6, 2012 at 11:56 am #

    Right on, mama!

  2. Luanne December 6, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

    Good for you, mama bear!

    • jmlindy422 December 6, 2012 at 12:37 pm #

      Part of me really wants him to reply, but then I’d get all star struck and probably wet my pants.

  3. Madame Weebles December 6, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

    How awesome would it be if you could get Dave Grohl to call and get your son to eat his vegetables???

    • jmlindy422 December 6, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

      I can’t think of anything more awesome! And, that actually sounds like something he would do!

  4. Emily @ The Waiting December 6, 2012 at 2:00 pm #

    I have always really liked Dave Grohl too; this may have something to do with the fact that I came of age in the 90s. But yeah, I completely agree with you about dropping out. He is an isolated case of someone who dropped out and benefitted from it. The majority of us are not so lucky and/or talented.

    • jmlindy422 December 6, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

      I think luck had a lot to do with it, even though he’s immensely talented. I wonder how he’ll feel about dropping out when his daughters get older.

  5. Karaboo December 6, 2012 at 7:45 pm #

    I am a hypocrite for totally agreeing with you. I was one of those rare cases where I dropped out of school (but got my GED later) and have still succeeded in life beyond my wildest dreams. It took perseverance, hard work and determination to get where I am, but teenagers don’t see that part, just the end result.

    With 4 teenagers now questioning life, the purpose of “wasting” their lives in school and me as a “role model” of success, it’s hard to point out that my path is not the typical one for drop-outs. As much as I hate the reality, my step-kids having a typical high-school drop-out in their own mom works to counteract my struggles in expounding on staying in school.

    Good luck with your son!

    • jmlindy422 December 6, 2012 at 9:27 pm #

      Thanks! I think I would be cool about my son dropping out of school if he had a working punk band asking him to join him on their European tour. He’s not even sure he’s going to go to the Winter Dance! When he knows what he wants his future to look like and can tell us, then we’ll support is choice. Until then . . .

  6. kelloggs77 December 7, 2012 at 11:55 pm #

    As a thank you for entertaining me so, I have nominated you for the Liebster Blog Award. Yeah, I had to look it up, too. Happy blogging! http://areyoufinishedyet.wordpress.com/2012/12/07/and-the-award-for-favorite-blog-goes-to/

  7. The Hook December 10, 2012 at 9:03 am #

    I hope you sent this to Grohl. Brilliant!

    • jmlindy422 December 10, 2012 at 9:10 am #

      I did a tiny bit of research and couldn’t find a way to email him. I’ll try again.

      • The Hook December 10, 2012 at 9:36 am #

        What about Twitter?

      • jmlindy422 December 10, 2012 at 9:46 am #

        How would I do that? I have an account, but I am not the world’s best at tweeting (as in I have no idea what I’m going)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. And the Award for Favorite Blog Goes To… | Are You Finished Yet? - December 7, 2012

    […] First, she’s a teacher. So I already like her. But then she goes and says stuff that just makes sense sometimes. Or makes me laugh about Christmas decorations. Or gets me thinking all […]

  2. Follow Me « Snide Reply - January 18, 2013

    […] high school.” I sympathize; my son has spoken the same blasphemy, causing me to write a letter to Dave Grohl. When I finally become a Twit, I will tweet Mr. Grohl and see if he tweets back—or whatever is […]

Leave a Reply

