My kids say funny stuff, too 10

4 Dec
Photo: HLNTV

Photo: HLNTV

The scene: my bedroom. I’m getting dressed while my daughter watches.

Daughter: You’re fat, Mommy.

Me: I am NOT fat!

Daughter: Well, you’re not fat like that lady on TV.

Me: What lady?

Daughter: You know . . .the one who got run over by a forklift.

Me: What are you talking about!?

Daughter: Oh, you know . . .Honey Boo Boo’s mom.

16 Responses to “My kids say funny stuff, too 10”

  1. djmatticus December 4, 2012 at 2:16 pm #

    Wait? Honey Boo Boo’s mom got run over by a forklift? When did I miss that?! Wait… who is Honey Boo Boo? (Ok, I do know, but have never watched the show and am a little sad that I am both of aware of the show’s existence and the show exists in the first place.)

    • jmlindy422 December 4, 2012 at 3:48 pm #

      My daughter seems to have confused Honey Boo Boo’s mom with Honey Boo Boo’s mom’s foot. The foot got run over by a forklift. Did you see what Adam Levine said in GQ about Honey Boo Boo? Very naughty words!

      • djmatticus December 4, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

        Missed that too. I’ll have to google it here in a second.

  2. Rutabaga the Mercenary Researcher December 4, 2012 at 2:33 pm #

    I’ve never seen a Honey Boo Boo in a complete show – but what I’ve seen in sound bites (which is more than enough) is kind of horrifying… Her mom is particularly frightening. Tell me the forklift story – it will most likely make me snort with laughter…

    • jmlindy422 December 4, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

      We only watched the show once. It was enough. My daughter is a little confused…Honey Boo Boo’s mother’s foot got run over, not the entire woman. I believe that would have done serious damage to the forklift.

  3. Madame Weebles December 4, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

    I almost feel bad for Honey Boo Boo and her mom at this point, because they’re such a national punchline. So I almost feel bad. Almost. Your daughter is funny but she might deserve some sort of horrific embarrassment for calling you fat.

    • jmlindy422 December 4, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

      Oh, my daughter calls me all sorts of things she should have some sort of horrific embarrassment about. It’s interesting exploring what “fat” means to her as she’s about to enter puberty. By “about to enter puberty” I mean that she has entered puberty, I just refuse to believe it. I do feel bad about Honey Boo Boo and her mother but obviously not as bad as I should.

  4. Emily @ The Waiting December 4, 2012 at 2:49 pm #

    What an unfortunate human. Honey Boo Boos mother, not your daughter.

    • jmlindy422 December 4, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

      She is unfortunate. The mom, not my daughter. My daughter is the opposite of obese, if there is an opposite. Eleventh percentile for weight.

  5. lucewriter December 4, 2012 at 6:00 pm #

    Sigh.

    • jmlindy422 December 4, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

      Sigh, indeed. My daughter has entered the interesting developmental phase where she compares herself to me and bluntly points out the differences. I don’t generally come out very good.

  6. Carrie Rubin December 6, 2012 at 10:43 am #

    Having to be told you’re fat AND hearing about Honey Boo Boo in one conversation is just not fair. You deserve unicorns and rainbows for the rest of the day.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I appreciate it. 🙂

    • jmlindy422 December 6, 2012 at 12:11 pm #

      Oh! Unicorns AND rainbows!? Yippee! And, you’re welcome. Likewise. 🙂

  7. The Hook December 10, 2012 at 9:04 am #

    Hilarious!

Leave a Reply

