Writer’s Block

16 Nov

Write a sentence.

Let the dog out.

Pour a cup of tea.

Let the dog in.

 

Delete a sentence

Read email.

Check Facebook.

 

Write a sentence.

Scrub the floor.

Wash my face.

Pour a cup of tea.

 

Write a paragraph.

Do backbends seated in my swivel chair.

Pull my hair by the roots.

Delete a sentence

 

Let the dog out.

Write a sentence.

Brush my teeth.

Write a sentence

Let the dog in.

 

Write a sentence

I had hoped for something longer today. This will have to do.

 

13 Responses to “Writer’s Block”

  1. kmoserwrites November 16, 2012 at 1:53 pm #

    Dear lord, it’s as if you have been looking through my window spying on me all day…except for the accomplishment of finally starting a blog on wordpress today. I have been freelance writing from home for years and have just now gotten around to establishing a real blog, even though I blog for companies all the time. I like your style, your truth, and will follow you now.

    • jmlindy422 November 16, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

      I think this is what you’d see if you looked in the window of any writer’s work space. Kudos on your blog! and thanks for the follow.

  2. Emily @ The Waiting November 16, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

    Sometimes tea and the dog take precedence. This is reality.

    • jmlindy422 November 16, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

      It’s really bad when I forget that I let the dog out. I do that a lot more than I’d like to admit!

      • Emily @ The Waiting November 16, 2012 at 4:24 pm #

        I’m here to make you feel better: lately I’ve been forgetting to feed C lunch. She’s on solids now so sometimes it slips my mind that she cannot subside exclusively on milk.

      • jmlindy422 November 16, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

        That is a riot! I once called my son by the dog’s name. We should start a thread just by posting our biggest mommy bloopers. Forgetting to feed the kid is right up there with sleeping through pre-school pick up. Yeah, I’ve done it.

  3. Madame Weebles November 16, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

    I’m familiar with this situation.

    • jmlindy422 November 17, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

      Oh, I’m sorry! I am usually able to get past the block but yesterday it just wasn’t happening!

  4. philosophermouseofthehedge November 16, 2012 at 8:03 pm #

    I love the flow of this – can just picture it all. (living the “dog in. the dog out” scenario myself these days…but the floors…no. managing to ignore that)

    • jmlindy422 November 17, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

      Thanks. I was trying to get the stop and start of that day’s writing progress. Sounds like it came through.

  5. Denise Hisey November 17, 2012 at 9:55 am #

    Ugh. This is my NaNoWriMo condition at the moment. Even my tea grows cold as I find other distractions! 😉 Thanks for letting me know I’m not the only one!

    • jmlindy422 November 17, 2012 at 2:38 pm #

      There are always other distractions! At least you did NaNo. I said I was going to, but I didn’t. Seriously? Who picked November? Someone who doesn’t host Thanksgiving, that’s who!

  6. Kathy Eynon, RN,CCM, CTACC November 20, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

    And yet you still amuse…..:-)

Leave a Reply

