My students say funny stuff, too

13 Nov

Image: forum.tis.edu.mo

I provide enrichment in Math and English to students from preK through 6th grade. Recently, I was helping a kindergartener learn how to do two digit addition. The problem causing a problem was 16 + 7.

Him: Sixteen plus seven is twenty one.

Me: No. Let’s try again.

Him: Seventeen?

Me: I don’t think so.

Him: Twenty?

Me: No. Let’s try it this way. Sixteen is the same as a ten and a six, right?

Him: Yes. I know.

Me: Well, let’s take the ten part away for a minute. What’s six plus seven?

Him: (long pause, lays his head on the desk, sighing) I don’t need to know.

 

13 Responses to “My students say funny stuff, too”

  1. The Letter "B" November 13, 2012 at 10:37 am #

    Awww. I hope things get better for both of you. 🙂

    • jmlindy422 November 13, 2012 at 11:34 am #

      This week, he got it. It was like a revelation to him. I have so much fun with him, it’s almost criminal.

  2. Madame Weebles November 13, 2012 at 10:58 am #

    Oh, that poor sweetie. I know how he feels.

    • jmlindy422 November 13, 2012 at 11:33 am #

      He got it this week. I’m just thrilled that he understand that the if a number is in the tens place, it represents ten of something!

  3. Joan Cleather November 13, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

    Priceless! Having had math anxiety almost forever, I know exactly how he felt.

    • jmlindy422 November 13, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

      My math teaching methods professor told us that no one is bad at math, they were just poorly taught. I try not to poorly teach my students. Sets the bar a little more reasonably than trying to be a great teacher.

  4. todadwithlove November 13, 2012 at 12:43 pm #

    Haha..incidentally, that was how I was taught Maths too: when the tens got too much for me, I was told to take them apart, and focus on the units. And it worked!

  5. scribblechic November 13, 2012 at 12:50 pm #

    “I don’t need to know.” Priceless! The humor and patience within this simple exchange highlights your natural gifts as a teacher. Kudos to the pupil and his teacher!

    • jmlindy422 November 13, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

      Well, thank you! That’s a nice thing to hear on a Tuesday.

  6. The Waiting November 13, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

    I wish I had had you as a math teacher. My response was basically the same as his!

    • jmlindy422 November 13, 2012 at 2:23 pm #

      The irony here is that I’m not all that good at math. You should see me trying to teach my 5th graders. They know more than me! My son, who loves math, thinks it’s hilarious.

  7. mauriceabarry November 13, 2012 at 8:16 pm #

    Yep–some times it’s…time! :>)

Leave a Reply

