My kids say funny stuff, too 8

6 Nov

Recently, I gave away the cat. Don’t judge me harshly; the cat is really better off in a home where the children play with him, the adults can afford to keep him and the other pets like him.

The children were prepared. They did not protest. In fact, they asked how soon they could get a hamster/pug/poodle to replace Oliver.

It was difficult leaving Oliver at the Animal Care League of Oak Park or, as my son’s friends have dubbed it, The Oliver Factory. I was filled with sadness, guilt, remorse, and self-recrimination. While this is not unusual for me, I don’t normally have to work it out in front of disgustingly understanding and supportive animal-loving volunteers.

On arriving home from school, my daughter began to wail. She came running to me, put her arms around me and cried, “Oliver’s gone!” She cried in my arms for some time. Then, tears dried, she asked if she could come to work with me. “Not a problem,” I said. So, off to work we went. On the way, she said, “Mom, can we go to Staples and get some Post-its afterward? I think it would help me feel less sad if I played school.”

“So,” I said, “You’re going to milk this for all you can get?”

“Well,” she said, “You gave away the cat.”

I sighed and said, “Ok. But after today, you’re done.”

“What!?” she said, “Do you really believe a pack of Post-its will solve my broken heart?”

I have to thank the wonderful people at the Animal Care League of Oak Park. They were kind, loving and supportive of both Oliver and I. If you knew Oliver, maybe you’d like to make a donation.

#Oliver 2012
Remember Oliver

6 Responses to “My kids say funny stuff, too 8”

  1. SocietyRed November 6, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

    And your daughter is ten? The teenage years ought to be hilarious!

  2. philosophermouseofthehedge November 7, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

    Glad you were sensible and gave Oliver a chance. He’s safe and not starving – and so cute he might be cuddling up to a new place already. You did good. (stick with the post-its for a while – easier to clean up after)

    • jmlindy422 November 7, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

      The ACL assured me that his eccentricity and intelligence would make him an excellent candidate for quick adoption. These are also the things that make it so appropriate for him to wear a devil costume. Thanks for the support.

  3. todadwithlove November 7, 2012 at 6:27 pm #

    Ohh, I adore Oliver. But I think I adore your daughter even more.

    • jmlindy422 November 7, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

      They are both pretty adorable. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

