Room with a view

19 Oct

Sometimes, words fail. Sometimes, it feels like everything fails. And then, sometimes, it takes so little to start to turn it around.

My office window is behind me as I write, so I keep the blinds drawn to cut the glare. This morning it’s gray and drizzly. I cursed the darkness, thinking, I need to get more light in here, and imagining a trip to Ikea. Then I remembered the blinds; they are closed so often I don’t even think of them. I opened the blinds to a scene from the garden I’ve neglected for months.

13 Responses to “Room with a view”

  1. Denise Hisey October 19, 2012 at 10:01 am #

    I love your garden, neglected or not, the colors are incredible!
    Isn’t it amazing what beauty we can find when we come out of the dark? 😉

    • jmlindy422 October 19, 2012 at 10:26 am #

      Thanks, and yes! Still feeling pretty subdued, but looking at the plants I love helps. The tree is a Red Oak, native to my area and planted out of sheer contrariness due to all of the non-native maples in the area. The grass is native prairie switch grass. The Japanese maple (the bright red behind the switch grass) is not native, but I love it.

  2. Jim October 19, 2012 at 10:27 am #

    Nice! New eyes on an old scene is always refreshing.

  3. SocietyRed October 19, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

    At my house I call that low maintenance, not neglect. Very nice!

  4. Mary Rayis October 19, 2012 at 2:49 pm #

    I find that on a cloudy day, the brilliant colors of autumn stand out even more. As I write this, I am admiring the beautiful sugar maple in my backyard.

    • jmlindy422 October 19, 2012 at 4:02 pm #

      We have a red maple in front that is stunning, but past it’s prime already.

  5. Madame Weebles October 19, 2012 at 4:27 pm #

    If you don’t want to use your office view anymore, can I have it? Because I like it.

    • jmlindy422 October 19, 2012 at 9:45 pm #

      I’ll photograph the view for each season and send it to you, otherwise you’ll have to come to Chicago/Naperville. Thanks for the like.

  6. Dinnerversions October 19, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

    If that’s neglected i’d hate for you to see my backyard! Love the fall colours and the ornamental grass is lovely.

    • jmlindy422 October 19, 2012 at 9:44 pm #

      The beauty of photography is that I can frame the view and leave out the snow shovel, the frost killed tomatoes and the large bag of landscape waste. I love the grass, too, and I’m glad I’m sometimes able to filter out the mess to see the color. Thanks.

  7. philosophermouseofthehedge October 22, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

    The outdoor realm is smiling and waving to you! We have some grass like that – it always looks wildly enthusiastic and dances (probably because we rarely get snow)

Leave a Reply

