My kids say funny stuff, too 6

16 Oct

Occasionally, I rebel against the mashed potato and un-sauced meat diet that keeps my family fed. Then, I go to the hot food and salad bars at Whole Foods and pile a mish-mash of green things into a box to eat while the heathens make their daily sacrifice to the Gods of Meat.

Recently, my son looked inquiringly at my plate. “Whatcha got there?” he asked. Because hope truly does spring eternal, I jumped at the chance to introduce him to foods without hooves.

“Well,” I said, “This is cole slaw, that’s tofu and this is broccoli.”

He didn’t turn away, so I continued on a tour of my dinner plate.

“This is quinoa salad and that, with the yogurt, is falafel.”

He looked at me and said,  “Now you’re just making up words.”

14 Responses to “My kids say funny stuff, too 6”

  1. philosophermouseofthehedge October 16, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

    Kids are so suspicious. Always thinking we are trying to put something over on them.
    Creatures comfortable with habit?…Or was it all that sneaking peas and vegetables in their food when they were 3 and would only eat one thing meal after meal after meal.
    Gotta love your kid!

    • jmlindy422 October 16, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

      I used to put ground beets into the Sloppy Joes. It was hilarious the day my son found out. Like I’d told him Santa didn’t exist or something.

  2. Madame Weebles October 16, 2012 at 4:25 pm #

    Now that’s funny. Your son is a funny kid. I suppose words like quinoa and falafel may as well be words made up by Dr. Seuss if they haven’t heard of them before.

    • jmlindy422 October 16, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

      My son is a hoot. Most of what he does that’s funny is physical so is difficult to show. I like the Dr. Seuss food imagery!

  3. SocietyRed October 16, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

    They do say funny stuff! Wait, beets in sloppy joes? I can only imagine his face. Now I’m hungry for falafel…

  4. nevercontrary October 16, 2012 at 7:36 pm #

    Oh I could use a good falafel.

    • jmlindy422 October 16, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

      If I find one….the ones at Whole Foods aren’t that good, but no one will go with me to get a good falafel! Come visit and we’ll go pig out on healthy food.

      • nevercontrary October 17, 2012 at 7:23 pm #

        Sounds like a great idea!

  5. Danny Breslin October 17, 2012 at 6:28 am #

    That made me laugh. Come to think of it I’ve never heard of falafa…falef..fal…you sure you’re not making it up?

  6. The Waiting October 17, 2012 at 8:04 pm #

    Love this! My mom says that I’m just speaking gibberish when I tell her I’m making saag paneer for dinner.

    • jmlindy422 October 18, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

      Too funny. Wait til little Miss C starts declining your lovingly prepared meals. I get such a kick out of these celebrity chefs who write books about how easy it is to get kids to eat healthful meals. Sure it is, until they get older and have minds of their own. When said son was two, he actually ate little cubes of tofu and steamed broccoli! BTW, I love paneer.

      • The Waiting October 18, 2012 at 1:56 pm #

        It’s so freaking good.

Leave a Reply

