My husband says funny stuff, too. . .sometimes

9 Oct

We joke in our house that Dad thinks he’s funny, but he really isn’t. Every now and then, though, he’ll crack me up. Witness:

My husband loves sports, but he hates sports broadcasting. I don’t care about the sports he cares about, but we pretend to listen to each other. We were discussing the Chicago Marathon, which has been named the Bank of America Chicago Marathon. The announcers proclaimed it the 35th Annual Bank of America Chicago Marathon. We, being the nit-pickers that we are, noted that while we had witnessed the 35th Chicago Marathon, it was not the 35th Bank of America Marathon. We’re annoying that way. My husband then went on a diatribe (he has a Ph.D. He doesn’t rant; he diatribes) about the rampant use of endorsements.

“You wouldn’t believe it!” he said. “When a relief pitcher comes into a game, they call it the ‘Rolaid’s Relief’ pitcher.”

“What’s next?” he continued, “The Kotex Cotton Bowl?”

10 Responses to “My husband says funny stuff, too. . .sometimes”

  1. Madame Weebles October 9, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

    Hubby is a funny guy. I share his distaste for the crazy number of endorsements in sports. From the Rolaids Relief Pitcher to the T-Mobile Call to the Bullpen, it drives me insane. Enough already. And Mr. Weebles and I would have been right there with you, pointing out that it wasn’t actually the 35th Bank of America marathon. We’re persnickety that way too, having both been editors.

    • jmlindy422 October 9, 2012 at 2:07 pm #

      T-Mobile Call to the Bullpen? Oh, that’s enough to make me stay with Verizon forever. I really hate it when they rename landmarks, like the Sears Tower (who the hell is Willis?) and Comiskey Park. I have no idea who “sponsors” Comiskey, but in Chicago, it will always be the Sears Tower and Comiskey. Let’s hear it for persnickety people.

  2. largerthanlifeblog October 10, 2012 at 9:50 am #

    Laughed until my jawline ached 🙂 ….my husband read this post and obviously agreed. As a matter of fact, he doesn’t care to reply if I ask him whether he would like some chips when there is a soccer or tennis match going on. Seems to me as if I am promoting Pringles.

    • jmlindy422 October 10, 2012 at 10:20 am #

      I hope your jawline recovers! My kids would not think promoting Pringles is a bad thing.

      • largerthanlifeblog October 10, 2012 at 10:51 am #

        You are right….because when it comes to Pringles…even I don’t think so 🙂

  3. Ashley Austrew October 10, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

    Hahaha! That’s fantastic. I’ve noticed that, too. Our Dallas Marathon is now the Metro PCS Dallas Marathon, and when I watch our baseball team play, the announcers will actually say, “Safe and secure with MetLife” when a runner is safe.

  4. todadwithlove October 10, 2012 at 9:20 pm #

    Your household is so full of wit and fun. I recollect wishing to be a fly on your kitchen wall after reading one of your previous posts. Since the flies are fast disappearing now, with the onset of cooler weather where you are, would you like to adopt a pet instead? Another dog, perhaps? Geez, I must still be haunted by Kafka’s Metamorphosis. Or just obsessed with the buddhist concept of incarnation.

    • jmlindy422 October 10, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

      Oh, no more pets for us for a while. We are finally moving forward with giving up our cat. We are a terrible match for him. He has no sense of humor; our dog, on the other hand, is as crazy as we are. The cat? Lives only to lie around and eat Fancy Feast. If you’d like to turn yourself into a pug, or Yorkie, I think my kids could convince me to adopt you, though.

  5. Carrie Rubin October 14, 2012 at 11:11 am #

    “we pretend to listen to each other”—You’ve just touched on one of the keys to a successful marriage. 😉

    • jmlindy422 October 14, 2012 at 11:16 am #

      We’ll be married 20 years on Wednesday. I have no words of wisdom other than “When you want to get divorced, don’t.” But, yeah, pretending to listen is a wonderful skill. Works with kids, too! Thanks for dropping by.

Leave a Reply

