My kids say funny stuff, too – 5

25 Sep

from the Food Heathen Files

Every school day morning, my daughter eats breakfast while I put together her lunch. Usually, I make her breakfast, too, but one morning, she decided to have a Gopicnic® “ready-to-eat meal.” Kind of like a Lunchable® but made with food, the meal included a turkey snack stick, fruit leather, chips and some other snacky things.

One of the snack items was a package of “seed and fruit mix.” My daughter read the ingredients, “Mountain Mambo,” she said. “sunflower kernels, pumpkin seeds, raisins, apples, chocolate chips and cranberries. Ewwwwww!”

“Sounds good to me,” I said. “I’ll put it in my oatmeal.”

“Well, you can have it,” she said, tossing me the package.

Later, she asked where the package of seeds and fruit was.

“I ate it in my oatmeal,” I said.

She walked past me, eyebrows up, mouth screwed in disgust and said, under her breath, “Yeah. You’re gonna be throwing up soon.”

6 Responses to “My kids say funny stuff, too – 5”

  1. philosophermouseofthehedge September 25, 2012 at 10:03 am #

    Kids never fail to be amazed at what their parents will eat.

  2. Rayme Wells @ A Clean Surface September 26, 2012 at 7:46 pm #

    “Turkey snack stick” would have been the part that worried me. The fruits and nut bag sounds awesome.

    • jmlindy422 September 26, 2012 at 7:57 pm #

      It WAS awesome. The turkey stick was healthier than it sounds.

  3. Mary Rayis October 1, 2012 at 11:24 am #

    My favorite grossed-out-about-food reaction actually came from our pediatrician years ago. She would routinely ask what foods my daughter was eating, and when I told her one of those foods was yogurt with wheat germ, her reaction was, “Wheat germ?! Isn’t that kind of like sawdust?!” Yes, pediatricians say the darndest things.

  4. Mary Rayis October 1, 2012 at 11:25 am #

    Sorry, Janice, but I’m grossed out by dried fruits myself. My kids tease me and dare me to eat raisins!

    • jmlindy422 October 1, 2012 at 11:41 am #

      I don’t really like raisins, but they were kind of buried in with the seeds and other stuff. The pediatrician thing is hilarious!

Leave a Reply

