My kids say funny stuff, too 2

5 Sep

featuring my son, 16 years old

My son is now at the age where he leaves for hours at a time to meet up with friends and do constructive things like drive from mall to mall visiting their favorite stores. I say visiting because, between them, they have almost enough money to get a fast food meal and put half a gallon of gas in the designated driver’s car.

I know a little bit more about the aspirations of some of my son’s cohorts than is comfortable for a woman known to worry about things like being sucked out of an airplane toilet. I know, for instance, that one of his group really, really wants to try LSD or just about any mind-altering substance.

Recently, Son came home from one of his mall inventorying ventures along with three other young men. I was coming down the stairs just as they opened the front door so nearly collided into Son. He was smiling; he looked happy. This is not a state I am accustomed to in him. Mr. I Want To Drop Acid and See God was with him.

I surveyed the situation and said the first thing that popped into my head.

“Are you high?” I said. He and his friends looked at me like I was insane. Now, the minute it came out of my mouth I knew it was probably not the best way to greet my son and three young men who tower over me, but there you are.

Later, reviewing the incident, I asked my son, “God, what on earth was I thinking!?”

“I don’t know, Mom,” he said. “I was like ‘Hi, Mom!’ and you were like ‘Hi, Drug Addict!'”

9 Responses to “My kids say funny stuff, too 2”

  1. philosophermouseofthehedge September 5, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

    Now that’s real life speaking! Funny!
    Actually, when teen years are all over, those kids will probably consider you the “good mom”.
    (Too many just want to be “friends”. Most kids do best when they know exactly where the line is….sometimes you can be the excuse they desperately are trying to find.)
    So blurting out honest stuff to them isn’t always a bad thing…right now you’ll be an embarrassment to your kids no matter what you say anyway, right?

    • jmlindy422 September 5, 2012 at 6:32 pm #

      So important to remember I’m an embarrassment no matter what! Thanks for reminding me!

  2. nevercontrary September 5, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

    I think I may have blurted out the same thing. Scary that his friends want to do LSD. Hopefully he won’t even if they do.

    • jmlindy422 September 5, 2012 at 8:39 pm #

      I know! The LSD thing is very frightening. This kid is so interested in getting “altered” that he is planning on distilling morning glory seeds. I truly am at a loss as to how to proceed. Should I just protect my son, who seems completely uninterested (and I snooped) or protect his friend, too..by telling his parents, who I don’t know. Arghhhhh

      • nevercontrary September 6, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

        Such a tough call. I hear things as a teacher that put me in a tough spot from time to time. I have only once called a parent about it. It is so hard to know when to say something and when not to.

  3. DoingDewey September 7, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

    Hahaha, this one made me laugh out loud – and immediately share it with the person I was talking to at the time 🙂

    • jmlindy422 September 7, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

      Thanks! Glad to know at least two people think my family life is as funny as I do.

  4. Denise Hisey October 1, 2012 at 8:30 am #

    😉 😉 😉
    Oh my I haven’t had a belly laugh like that for a bit! That was totally hilarious!!

    As for the LSD wannabe…that’s a tough one! If he’s around your house much, maybe talking with him and getting to know him better will lead to deeper discussions? How did you find out about the LSD idea? If from your son, maybe he has ideas on how to approach the friend? Yikes! Good luck!!

    • jmlindy422 October 1, 2012 at 8:47 am #

      Thanks!
      The wannabe really is a tough one. I found out he wanted to do LSD from my son. The friend is a massive Beatles fan; I actually drove him, my son and another friend to a store 45 minutes away so he could shop for a sitar. For him, part and parcel of the Beatles experience is dropping acid, ’cause they did. Since then, I’ve been monitoring my son’s communication with this kid. He (the kid) has been unable to score any real LSD, so intends on experimenting with morning glory seeds. Thanks for the good wishes. I’m going to keep monitoring.

Leave a Reply

