What to do? What to do?

23 Aug

My children went back to school today. My son woke me at 6:20 to say goodbye with “Mom! Get up! It’s time to go back to the angst.” “You have angst?” I asked. “All teenagers have angst, Mom,” was the reply.

I am working on several things at the moment: today’s blog post, my professional website and a memoir. Today’s blog post could well wind up being tomorrow’s blog post. The professional website is an ongoing nightmare. I wish Le Clown would do it for me, but I have no money. The memoir? It makes me giggle to even think of it as I have the worst memory in the history of history. But, my husband has a Ph.D. in history and knows me pretty well, so he can help me remember the stupid things like dates.

So, if y’all don’t mind, I’m going to enjoy the three more hours of freedom I have before the boy comes back to regale me with tales of angst. I’m going to run then get my butt in the kitchen to crank out my traditional first day of school cookies.

17 Responses to “What to do? What to do?”

  1. philosophermouseofthehedge August 23, 2012 at 11:38 am #

    Perfect first paragraph. Enjoy the cookies and tales!

  2. dinnerversions August 23, 2012 at 12:41 pm #

    Your son sounds like a great kid. I like your tradition of first-day-of-school-cookies, I might have to steal that!

    • jmlindy422 August 23, 2012 at 1:56 pm #

      My son is a great kid. I’m up against the wall with the cookies; just realized I have no vanilla and they will know if I cheat and use pre-made dough. Go ahead and steal, but only if you have vanilla!

  3. The Waiting August 23, 2012 at 1:05 pm #

    I love the word “angst.” I don’t know if this makes me a wannabe adolescent, but I am going to try to fit it in some sentences today.

    • jmlindy422 August 23, 2012 at 1:55 pm #

      He pronounces it very Midwestern: “ang” like “hang.” I pronounce it very pretentious: “ahng” like “ahng.” It’s a useful term. I have also turned it into an adjective: My son was all angsty the other day over some bimbo. Like that. Good word.

  4. Geraldine August 23, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

    Lol, is that what I have to look forward to when my son becomes a teenager? 🙂

    • jmlindy422 August 23, 2012 at 9:00 pm #

      I hope you have a child like my son; he’s a treat in so many ways.

  5. Le Clown August 23, 2012 at 5:38 pm #

    Janice,
    I don’t do website per se, I do web marketing strategies. But I could definitely give you a hand if you need it. Send me a PM, and I can give you a few pointers. And don’t stress about the cash, of course.
    Le Clown

    • jmlindy422 August 23, 2012 at 8:59 pm #

      Oh, that’s so sweet. I am going to get back at attacking the site this week. I’ll send you a message, probably after I’ve spent about an hour trying to figure out how to change the front page of the theme I purchased. It will be a “please send good advice and even better chocolate” kind of message. BTW, speaking of chocolate, can one purchase Debauve & Gallais in Montreal? Haven’t had any since I went to France about 18 years ago!

  6. twistingthreads August 23, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

    I used to dish my teenage angst to my mother while I helped her with the dishes. You know, multitasking and help in one. It’s a trade off…

    • jmlindy422 August 23, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

      Ah, yes, multitasking. I would get my angst out with my mom late at night. I miss those late night sessions; so peaceful.

  7. todadwithlove August 23, 2012 at 7:26 pm #

    Looking forward to reading that memoir. And wrestling with memory is really part of that artistic process, isn’t it?

    • jmlindy422 August 23, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

      I had the brilliant idea to write about trying to remember and the things I’d have to go through to discover and/or rebuild memories. I’ll probably wake up tomorrow and thinks it’s a really stupid idea!

  8. Madame Weebles August 23, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

    I sympathize about the angst over the professional website. But you failed to mention the most important thing: what kind of cookies did you make??

    • jmlindy422 August 23, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

      I made sugar cookies. According to my son, I make the best sugar cookies in the world and he is a very picky eater. He typically says, “I’ve had better” when I ask him how he likes whatever it was that I made for dinner. Not the cookies! I could claim ownership of the recipe, but it’s just from Cook’s Illustrated’s “The Best Recipe” book. Me? I’m not real big on sugar cookies, but the after school tradition is for them, not me. BTW, get here by tomorrow and there might be some cookies left.

  9. keynoncoaching August 27, 2012 at 10:36 am #

    You have my best wishes on the website! I just spent a frustrating weekend revamping mine which included 2 hours on the phone with my website host provider! I think I am a little in love with the guy who rescued me 😉 (see what I’ve done if you like http://www.parentcarealliance.com)

Leave a Reply

