Like this post if you’re like me

13 Aug

Every morning, my ankle hurts. Just a little, in a spot that makes it obvious I’ve got arthritis. I’ve got the same thing going on with my wrist. I get up, though, and get moving. By the time I’ve had my second cup of tea, the pain is gone.

My teeth are a mess, I have hot flashes, my kids are both in double digits and old enough to know when I’m full of shit. In other words, I’m getting old.

With such abundant evidence in my real world, I don’t need it in my virtual world. But every time I get on Facebook, I see another of those dumb ass memes of some antiquated crap I’m supposed to “like” if I remember what the hell it’s for.

I remember what they’re for. The ice cube tray made out of aluminum with the lever you pulled that broke the cubes loose, while also breaking half the cubes? I remember that. It was common before we knew that aluminum consumption contributes to Alzheimer’s. I like my ice maker ‘though I’m pretty sure we’ll discover the plastic parts it’s made of cause erectile dysfunction.

I remember flash cubes, Captain Kangaroo, Mister Ed, and cassette tapes. I know what the relationship is between the cassette tape and a pencil.

I am not going to “like” any of these things.

See, I remember them and some of them even fondly. But my brain still works  the way it’s supposed to work. I can still learn new things. I can still challenge myself. I can still be part of the world evolving around me.

My dad can’t. For brevity’s sake, let’s just say his brain is clogged with knots of protein. His cognitive function is so impaired he makes things up. He’s paranoid. He can’t remember my mother is dead, so he confuses other people with my mom and insists she’s ignoring him. I have had to tell him she’s dead three times in the last month.

So, I won’t be “liking” anything from my childhood. It’s not that I don’t smile when I remember them, but when I’m 80, I’d like to have someone post a picture of Katy Perry that I can “like.” Maybe I’ll do it when I come in from a run.

8 Responses to “Like this post if you’re like me”

  1. philosophermouseofthehedge August 13, 2012 at 11:29 am #

    Flash cubes! Pencils and cassettes! And now manual typewriters are “cool” (oh, yeah, that retyping and retyping the same page is sooo much fun)
    Keep running – on (as Tom Petty says)
    Terrific post…like it or not

    • jmlindy422 August 13, 2012 at 11:34 am #

      I have to say a Selectric is a pretty amazing machine, but I’ll take my MacBook Pro any day.

  2. Madame Weebles August 13, 2012 at 11:52 am #

    I enjoy those little nostalgia trips, but I’m not going to “like” every single bit of old-school paraphernalia I see on FB. It’s kind of silly.

    • jmlindy422 August 13, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

      That’s what I’m saying! The first couple were kind of cute, but then I realized I was labeling myself a dinosaur. And who wants that?!

  3. The Waiting August 13, 2012 at 2:28 pm #

    Know what I like? I like not going on Facebook anymore. I like not being bombarded with stupid memes. I like you for not liking them too.

    • jmlindy422 August 13, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

      Thanks, I like you, too. I’m seriously considering keeping a timer at my desk and timing the amount of time (is that redundant) I spend on FB, so that I will feel guilty and, therefore, either motivated to write or to nap. Either will be more productive.

  4. Barb August 13, 2012 at 4:53 pm #

    I agree! Sure, there are good things about the good old days that I like to remember but there were some things that are not so good. We can only live in the present and make the best of it. I am heartily sick of those memes.

    • jmlindy422 August 13, 2012 at 8:23 pm #

      Thanks for dropping by and agreeing with me. One can never get enough affirmation!

Leave a Reply

