Fractured Fiction: You finish it!

10 Aug

Like many writers, I have attempted writing fiction. I have attempted it so many times that I think there is more fiction on my computer than there are entries in my Quicken files. I have a plethora of ideas and I’m really good at starting. But I get stuck. Maybe, I thought, my loyal readers can help me get over the hump. So, I’m going to start going through the mountain of beginnings I’ve written and throw one out to you every week. YOU finish it!

Here’s the first:

I woke to the sound of the shower running. This was a problem; I live alone. So, either I had turned the shower on and fallen asleep, or there was someone in my shower. My head was fuzzy about the night before. In fact, I had no recollection beyond hitting my head as I sat up too quickly while backing out of the undersink cabinet. The damn disposal had choked on something again and, in my effort to get it running, I’d had to crawl into the cabinet up to my shoulders. Getting back out is never as easy as getting in, is it?

So, my memory was going to be of no use in figuring out why my shower was running. A pile of men’s clothing lay on the chair beside my bed. My own clothes lay on the floor, short black skirt on the bottom, black silk blouse next, then red lace bra and panties. At least I’d dressed nicely.

But this was bad, very bad. Not just because of the obvious; I had had sex with someone and couldn’t remember the act, let alone the actor. I’d done that before.  Oh, crap!  Check for condom.  There, near the panties, a used wrapper. One little bit of good news. No, it wasn’t so bad that I had woken up with no memory of my activity the night before. The bad part was that this time, I’d brought the stranger home. Or, was it a stranger?

The water stopped.  I heard the shower curtain being pulled back. In a few moments, I assumed, the mystery man would make his appearance. I closed my eyes, feigning sleep. Obviously, he wasn’t going to kill me. If he were, I assumed he would have already. Why take a shower before getting all bloody?

11 Responses to “Fractured Fiction: You finish it!”

  1. The Writer's Codex August 10, 2012 at 9:13 pm #

    This is definitely a great introduction to your character; I understand you’re throwing these out because you are stuck but I wonder, what tactics have you tried to get over the hurdle. Some ideas that might help; twist whatever you’ve got so far, in this story turn her into a hunter and she brought home her prey again, or add conflict by making her live at home with her mom, I don’t know what you like to write, but throwing in a twist when you’re stuck is a great idea.

    Another idea is this, and again I don’t know maybe what you threw out was only a blurb, maybe you have written more, but if you haven’t; just get these two characters talking. It’s going to be an awkward conversation but get them talking and a story will come out of it, your main character has to learn somehow; last night was important for her, remember that otherwise you wouldn’t be telling us about this particular guy anyway. That’s something to work from.

    Last idea; can’t figure out what to do? Transplant your girl and put her in work later that same day, who does she tell? What’s her life at work like? Was anyone she work with with her last night? Wouldn’t they be curious what happened? Keep moving the story forward until you find another point you want to write until a story develops around those moments. This could help greatly. Okay, so one more idea and this one is a shameless plug, checkout my most recen post, it may help you with yours; I’m working on something where I’m the same place as you and I don’t know where I’m going, that post talks about what I’m doing right now to figure it out.

    Hope this helps; and no, I won’t finish your story, that’s your job…now get to work.;)

    • jmlindy422 August 10, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

      This is awesome help. I did, indeed, picture her as a hunter and as a sort of female Dr. Jekyll. I will re-read your suggestions. I like getting them to talk. I will definitely allow your shameless plug and check out your blog. Thanks for the critique.

      • The Writer's Codex August 10, 2012 at 11:12 pm #

        Anytime, I’m only just venturing along the same as you but I thought you could use a hand. Hope I’ve helped in some way.

  2. Madame Weebles August 11, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    Well, the beginning is indeed great so you’re off to a good start! This could go in any number of different directions… a delicious one-night stand guy, an ex-boyfriend, a crazy stalker who thinks you’re a couple now, or something completely different. However it goes, I am looking forward to reading it!

    • jmlindy422 August 11, 2012 at 2:16 pm #

      I like the crazy stalker who thinks were a couple, since maybe she’s a crazy stalker, too. Hm….but you guys are supposed to finish it!

      • Madame Weebles August 11, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

        Ohhh! I’m a doofus, I missed that part. Even though it was prominently mentioned in your header. Meh.

        Hmm. I’m going to ponder this.

      • jmlindy422 August 11, 2012 at 6:53 pm #

        Not to worry, Weebs. I have been challenged to finish it myself and I kind of want to now, and kind of don’t. It could be funny, it could be creepy. Or it could be both. Hm…..

  3. Snark Diva August 12, 2012 at 5:41 am #

    I had two choices: be brave and walk in on him, pretending I was completely okay with strange men showering in my apartment, or dash out the front door and head down the street for a much-needed morning cappucino. Before I could decide, the choice was made for me. The door opened and I peeked under my eyelids. Holy crap, this was a mistake!

    “Wake up, sleepyhead,” he said. When I didn’t respond, he dropped the towel that was slung around his waist and climbed into the bed next to me. He draped his arm over my hip and I felt his breath against my ear. “You’re going to have to get up sometime,” he murmured.

    I rolled over to face him, feigning a yawn. “Oh, good morning,” I replied. His hair was damp from the shower and he smelled like my shampoo. He looked… delicious.

    As he leaned down to kiss me, the events of the previous evening flooded into my brain: a chance encounter, dancing, more dancing, and lots of appletinis. It might have been a mistake, but I certainly had enjoyed it. And it looked like I was about to enjoy it again. I had a reputation for breaking the rules, and if sleeping with your best friend’s father was against the rules, I was guilty as charged.

    • jmlindy422 August 12, 2012 at 8:16 am #

      Oh, my god! You’re naughty! That was fun, fun, fun.

      • justafangirl August 12, 2012 at 3:01 pm #

        Naughty is so much more fun than good, don’t you think?

      • jmlindy422 August 12, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

        Well, a little naughty, like a little OCD, makes the world go around. Thanks for playing!

Leave a Reply

