Chicago Style? Not Dog!

2 Aug

My son likes to think that being born in Chicago at Prentice Hospital for Women makes him a city boy. Never mind that he spent fewer than 24 hours outside of my womb in said hospital. He thinks he’s a city boy and really shines the closer he gets to concrete and smog. So, yesterday we escaped our tract house on the prairie and went into Chicago for lunch. Along for the ride were my nephew, visiting from New York, and a friend of my son’s.

We’re a burger eating bunch and, all pizza aside, Chicago is a great town for a burger. I took a peek at the Chicago Burger Bible website and selected The Lock Down Bar and Grill in Ukrainian Village for our Summer Burger Adventure. I’d never been to Ukrainian Village, though my niece recently moved there. The Lock Down reports showing a different live rock concert video every day and the Burger Bible puts their burgers among the top 10 in the city. It’s a pretty freaking big city, so it’s gotta be a pretty freaking good burger, I thought.

I was right. The burgers are good and they are big! This is not a restaurant review so I didn’t pay much attention to the names of things. I did take pictures before we decimated our meals. Everyone liked their food, but only one of us finished: the quiet, shy guy from the ‘burbs. It was fun to watch my son and nephew, both guitar players, try to name the music playing inside the bar.

Dill Pickle Chips…deep-fried slices of pickle, not potato chips that taste like dill pickles. Tasty, but a little goes a long way.

This is “The Bootleg” burger with bacon, kimchi and a fried egg. Reportedly a little on the salty side.

The weather was great—beautiful blue sky and not too hot with a cool (lake?) breeze. The location was perfect—far enough off a busy street to be able to chat but not so far we lost the urban vibe. The company was stellar—people I love who I rarely get to just sit and hang with.

This one’s not on the website menu. Onion rings stacked high over a pile of Gorgonzola. Definitely not edible without a flip-top mouth.

For the petite appetite. You can get these babies plain if you’re a kid, otherwise they come in a “flavor of the week.”

My idea of a perfect summer moment. What’s yours?

A rare glimpse behind the scenes at Snide Reply. That’s me in the middle.  My nephew, a future Oscar-winning animator, is on my left. Click on his link in the first paragraph to see his work, then hire him. The Viking Lord on the right is my son.

21 Responses to “Chicago Style? Not Dog!”

  1. clownonfire August 2, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

    Snide,
    Nice to meet you! Your son and nephew look like real hipsters to me. I mean that as a compliment, Sufjan Stevens/Bon Iver lovers!!
    As for a perfect Summer day… I would say it’s before the solstice, where days are long, and winter is still far, far away… With my family….. I know, I must be old.
    Le Clown

    • jmlindy422 August 2, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

      You’re an inspiration, M. Le Clown. Your visage is all over your blog, so I decided to risk a photo. Maybe I’ll remove the shades another day. My son is definitely ok with Bon Iver, but my nephew has a heavy metal heart. Neither would call themselves hipsters, but I will tell them that the great Le Clown has called them so and, lo, they will be believers. Thanks!

    • Madame Weebles August 2, 2012 at 4:36 pm #

      Yes, you are old, Le Clown.

      • clownonfire August 2, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

        Madame Weebles,
        How are you feeling today, after the traffic congestion that your boob has caused yesterday on the blogosphere?
        Le Clown

      • Madame Weebles August 2, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

        Well, I’m fine but my blog is a mess today after the wild party yesterday. People trying on lampshades, too much booze, and my ears hurt from all the honking noises everyone was making. So kind of you to ask.

      • clownonfire August 2, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

        Madame Weebles,
        Joan Holloway called me yesterday, she had a message for you: “Find another shtick”. Don’t shoot the messenger.
        Le Clown

  2. The Waiting August 2, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

    I love the idea that Naperville is the sticks. I’ve also never been to Ukrainian Village, but now I have a reason to visit once I get back to Chitown. You and your family are lovely; thank you for providing me with a face to go with your voice that I’ve come to love so well.

    • jmlindy422 August 2, 2012 at 10:54 pm #

      Thanks, Emily. I keep wanting to call you “Ems.” Does anyone call you that? I call my daughter “Abs” sometimes. I don’t use her name in the blog, but the Abs refers to her impressive six pack, as well as her moniker. The girl can do countless crunches from hanging vertically upside down while I hold her around my waist. She really does have a six pack. It’s the cutest thing on such a tiny girl. You must let us know if you come to Chicago.

      • The Waiting August 3, 2012 at 7:18 pm #

        Lots and lot of people call me Em. Ems works too! I think my chance at being called Abs went out the window the instant I inherited my dad’s squishy body type.

  3. Madame Weebles August 2, 2012 at 4:38 pm #

    I still haven’t tried deep-fried pickles, I’m not sure why. I love pickles and I love anything deep fried. Seems like it should be a match made in heaven, so I need to get me some of those.

    For me the beach is the perfect summer thing. Doesn’t matter where, just a beach, a towel, an umbrella, and a book. That’s it.

    • jmlindy422 August 2, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

      The beach is another perfect summer thing for me, too.. I’m going to take my daughter to the beach here and we’ll post that. I’m getting a “you’d never think you could do that in Chicago” vibe going for people who know nothing about Chicago. You know, if you lived nearby, we could go to the beach with our towels and umbrellas and read Fifty Shades of Speaker 7 together!

      • Madame Weebles August 2, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

        That would be so fun—we’d have a great time!! And I actually do know there are beaches in Chicago. Lake Michigan may as well be an ocean, for as gigantic as it is.

  4. Karin Evans August 2, 2012 at 7:04 pm #

    Summer means riding a bicycle to wherever I’m going. On one sweet day last week I rode my bike from Oak Park to Uncommon Grounds for lunch, to Goose Island for a beer and pub chips, and to Nightwood for dinner. Spent lovely hours on my bike by myself as well as lovely hours sharing these perfect city venues with my friends.

    Regarding fried pickles: I like them. I have tried them at several different places. Best so far is at Brixie’s on Ogden Ave in Brookfield, which is also one of the best beer bars around, and very bicycle-friendly. When it’s not too hot, the bartender rolls up the garage doors on the side of the bar. Have a burger along with your fried pickles. Try a beer from a brewery you’ve never heard of, then try two or five more. Then ride your bicycle home!!!

    Yay summer.

  5. philosophermouseofthehedge August 2, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

    Fried pickles? Actually sounds good.

    • jmlindy422 August 3, 2012 at 10:41 am #

      Don’t you live in the home of deep-fried pickles? Well, really, you live in the home of deep-fried everything!

  6. Mary Rayis August 3, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

    When it’s hot like today, my favorite summer activity is catching a movie in an air-conditioned movie theater. I caught the latest “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” flick with my 11-year-old daughter, her friend, and plenty of junk food. The “Diary” series of movies is dumb and kind of sweet, and I love them – guilty pleasure. I must have the mind of a 12-year-old boy!

    • jmlindy422 August 3, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

      I’ve always thought that, Mary. Actually, no, I haven’t, but it sounded good for a couple of minutes . . .in my head. I hate it when the inside my head voice pops out. We’ll have to check those out.

  7. nevercontrary August 3, 2012 at 7:55 pm #

    Oh dear lord that food looks amazing! And the family pic is pretty fabulous as well.

  8. sukanyabora August 6, 2012 at 3:25 pm #

    great to finally see a pic of you. the genuis behind the writing:-)

  9. sukanyabora August 6, 2012 at 3:25 pm #

    sorry meant genius-

    • jmlindy422 August 6, 2012 at 3:48 pm #

      Hm….I think I’m more comfortable being called a “genuis.” Thanks, so much, for the lovely sentiment. Maybe some day I’ll take off the shades.

Leave a Reply

