C? Si! 100 posts and beyond

21 Jun

I’m not ordinarily interested in anniversaries, commemorative dates and other forced significancies. I barely remember how long I’ve been married and don’t really think it matters much. Frankly, staying married is really just a matter of not getting divorced when things get bad. Things have always gotten better for us, so being married for 20 years is more luck than hard work.

I don’t understand why we have to celebrate birthdays, either. I get older every year; so do you. Why do I have to go out to eat somewhere really fancy on April 22? Maybe I’d like to go out to eat somewhere really fancy on June 26 or October 13. I’m considering putting tokens in a jar for all of the events we’re supposed to commemorate. Then, if we feel like doing it up one day, we can just take out a token and celebrate whatever we happen to pull out. So, if I want to, I can celebrate my October wedding anniversary in March.

Publishing 100 posts on Snide Reply, though, is apparently something to crow about. I’ve actually published 101, but I didn’t write one of them. I recently re-blogged a post from sweetmotherlover, a blogger I follow. Because I’m busier than a suburban mom driving her kids all over town to various summer activites, I decided to break my no-commemorations rule. I am celebrating writing 100 posts by re-blogging the first post I wrote, two years ago. Back then, I had about 35 followers. Last time I checked, I had about 144145147. Not the biggest following, but more than I ever thought I’d reach. I happen to think my first is also one of my funniest posts and hope you think so, too. Enjoy.

Thanks friends, family and followers! I’ll keep writing if you’ll keep following.

7 Responses to “C? Si! 100 posts and beyond”

  1. keynoncoaching June 21, 2012 at 11:55 am #

    Here’s one follower who will keep reading! Congrats on 100! I like the idea of a token jar. That way you can celebrate special days when your kids that live away are around! I just maybe sometimes think that having a wedding anniversary in the fall would be nice (rather than June….opps July……when it is so dang hot!)

  2. The Waiting June 21, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

    I will keep reading! It’s bloggers like you that keep me coming back to WordPress. Congratulations!

  3. LINDA ERDELY PIERCE June 21, 2012 at 3:03 pm #

    147! I quite like the tokens in the jar idea.

  4. philosophermouseofthehedge June 21, 2012 at 9:20 pm #

    101? (Sounds like a movie of some kind…) Congrats! (trying to round up trombones and Dalmatians for the celebration….but it’s hard…being summer and all.)
    Yeah, being able to stockpile celebrations/holidays to use when you really really need a day off – great idea!

    • jmlindy422 June 22, 2012 at 7:05 am #

      Who knew the tokens idea would be so popular? Would love some dalmations for the celebration, so let’s put a token in the jar and we’ll let the hot dogs cool off until later in the year.

  5. societyred June 22, 2012 at 1:39 pm #

    Congrats and I love your blog! I used to go to the laundry room and laugh at my own kids’ tantrums, now I do it with the grandkids…that’s also where I stash the cookies!

  6. DoingDewey June 22, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

    Congratulations! I definitely think that keeping up blogging that long is worth celebrating 🙂 For real life, I’m with everyone else – the tokens are a great idea. As long as we’re going to have arbitrary celebrations, lets do it on our own schedules 🙂

Leave a Reply

