It’s All Good

7 Jun

Brown Sugar Bacon ala katieleehome.comWhen I started blogging, I didn’t read other people’s blogs. I was new; what did I know? Frankly, it never really occurred to me that anyone beyond my immediate family would care what came out of my fingertips, unless it was Dr. Pepper. Quite a few people in my family would be impressed if I could shoot Dr. Pepper out of my fingertips. Or lasers. It’d be pretty cool to shoot lasers out of my fingertips.

While my list of followers is not that large—I know people who’ve had more guests at their weddings than I have on Snide Reply—it’s far more than my gene pool alone could supply. I learned pretty quickly that you gotta spread the blog love. If you’re writing blogs, then you should be reading them, too. Blogosphere tit-for-tat.

I discovered that there are certain blog posts that are de rigueur. As I write, I have a headache otherwise I would remember all the different kinds of posts I’m supposed to write. There’s the Search Terms post; that’s the one in which you write about all the crazy search terms people used that brought them to your blog. When I wrote my search terms post, “penis” was in all of the top five terms. Today, I am pleased to report there is not a single “penis” in the top five. Ok, there’s a “dick,” but I’m not counting it. Could be someone is looking for their Uncle Dick, not their uncle’s dick.

The other kind of post that I can remember is the Goodness Gratefulness Post. I did do a gratitude post some time back; it got Freshly Pressed. But it pretty much thumbed its nose at the idea of being grateful ‘cause, really, must we be grateful all the time? I think not. Still, I’ve been kinda down and thought maybe focusing on what’s good might help. So, here are the things that strike me as good today.

My son earned a D in American Studies.

Asian parents abound in our neighborhood; for many of them, the only achievements worth celebrating are As. Then there is my family, whooping it up over our son’s D. We are celebrating the fact that a D is not an F. We are celebrating the fact that our son seems to finally understand that it doesn’t matter if you think your teacher is a douche bag bad teacher nor does it matter if you can get an A on the final without doing the homework.  My husband and I now understand that grounding is far more effective when there is something at stake, like driving around aimlessly with one’s friends.

There is no wolverine in my garage.

Garages and basements are the same thing in my mind, except that the garage has immediate access to nature. Creepy, cluttered, spider-ridden, dark and dusty, basements are the stuff of horror shows. Mine would be a blockbuster. But as scary as basements are, they have the advantage of being rather more difficult to infiltrate than, say, a garage. While my garage is no Taj, it would make a commodious abode for any wandering wildlife. So, I always step gingerly into the garage, particularly at night, despite six years of venturing there without incident. I shall remain vigilant. Hell, there’s an opossum living under our deck; why wouldn’t there be a wolverine in the garage?

Coyote pups are really cute.

Early in the spring, a coyote crossed my path as I ran through the prairie preserve near my house. Feigning disinterest in devouring me, he stared me down then slunk silently into the reeds ringing the marsh to the north. Feigning nonchalance, I reversed my running course and fled—I mean, jogged calmly away—resisting the urge to run forward while looking back.

Approximately two months later, a pair of coyote pups crossed my path while running through the same preserve. Looking more like teddy bears than predators, they scurried into the grass at the side of the trail, barely hid their fluffy little faces and watched me jog calmly by. They were gone by the time I had doubled back, headed toward home. Hunting, I supposed. With their dad. Far from me.

There are lots of baby bunnies this time of year.

I spied a baby bunny in my yard this morning. He looked so much like the fiend that devoured my roses when we first moved here that I gave an involuntary cringe. I shooed him away, toward the prairie preserve and the darling coyote pups. Hey! Circle of life, people. It’s a bitch.

There’s bacon in the fridge.

I have a friend who doesn’t get bacon, as in “Bacon? What’s so special about bacon?” I try to understand her point of view by remembering that she loves beer. Now, I like beer. Lately, I’ve been drinking beer on a semi-regular basis. I even have some in the fridge right now. But I won’t drink just any beer. My dad would drink any beer, especially any cheap beer. My friend and I are far more discriminating. And that’s where the beer and bacon comparison falls apart. There are bad beers. There are spectacularly bad beers. But there is no such thing as bad bacon. There is bacon that is a little too salty, or too fatty or not cooked exactly the way you like it. But it’s all bacon and it’s all good.

14 Responses to “It’s All Good”

  1. keynoncoaching June 7, 2012 at 3:42 pm #

    I remember telling our son to ‘just pass’ Spanish so that he could graduate and go to college…..I have groundhogs under my shed that have produced a very cute baby who cruises my yard and patio right now……My Dad drank what we called ‘beer of the people’ (just not this people) and as we all know, everything tastes better with bacon (even bacon)

    • jmlindy422 June 7, 2012 at 4:27 pm #

      Groundhogs are cute, too! Bacon does, indeed, make everything taste better…except chocolate.

  2. Titillating Thoughts June 7, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

    Have you tried the Bacon Shake from Jack in the Box? Yeah, neither have I.

  3. The Waiting June 7, 2012 at 6:51 pm #

    The last sentence of this post neatly exemplifies why I love your blog.

    • jmlindy422 June 7, 2012 at 8:12 pm #

      So, I should just write about bacon. Bacon, bacon, bacon. Thanks! How’s life with your little pork chop?

  4. nevercontrary June 7, 2012 at 7:20 pm #

    That is a pretty nice list. I need more bacon in my life. Praline bacon to be exact.

    • jmlindy422 June 7, 2012 at 8:13 pm #

      Praline bacon might even move my friend who doesn’t “get” bacon. Where does one find praline bacon?

      • nevercontrary June 8, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

        One has to make it. You cook the bacon in brown sugar pecans and a little cayanne pepper.

  5. Mad Queen Linda June 8, 2012 at 9:13 am #

    It is dismaying at times to see the search terms that bring someone to a blog. Mine seems to be “jumping shoes.” I was hoping for something more profound, like “peaceful joy luck” or “live happily ever after.” So far no body parts, though.

    • jmlindy422 June 8, 2012 at 9:23 am #

      The Waiting has the best search term ever: “the most beautiful chickens”. My second most popular term is “masterbating.” (not my spelling error). I think I’d rather have “jumping shoes.”

  6. Mary Rayis June 8, 2012 at 9:30 am #

    I don’t drink beer but have it on a friend’s authority that “Summer Shandy” is the only beer she will drink.

    • jmlindy422 June 8, 2012 at 10:51 am #

      You USED to drink beer. Gonna have to try Summer Shandy. I started drinking beer in the last year. Somehow, it just tastes right after running.

      • Mary Rayis June 8, 2012 at 10:59 am #

        Wouldn’t know. I don’t run. Heck, I rarely walk! I’ve really got to get into better shape.

      • jmlindy422 June 8, 2012 at 11:04 am #

        I would walk with you. My therapist says I need to try slowing down; I have trouble imaging how much slower I can get then napping when I’m stressed, but there you go.

Leave a Reply

