What’s in YOUR Beach Bag?

29 May

I’ve been challenged–in public–by my local library, based on my column this week in The Patch. Here’s the link: http://naperville.patch.com/articles/just four books

The challenge? To publicly sign up for the library’s summer reading program for adults. Promised inducements are coupons and the satisfaction of beating my son at something. No small inducement, that. Haven’t signed up yet, but I’m working on two novels,  Graceling by Kristin Cashore and Tricked by Kevin Hearne. Then there is a stack of non-fiction to wade through covering bipolar disorder and running, two of the governing factors in my life.

What’s in your beach bag? Or, if you’re like me and hanging at home all summer, what’s on the night stand?

19 Responses to “What’s in YOUR Beach Bag?”

  1. nevercontrary May 29, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

    I am rereading Kim Harrison series this summer, then the bloggess new book, then maybe fifty shades of grey, not sure about that one yet.

    • jmlindy422 May 29, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

      I should give Kim Harrison a second chance. I just didn’t get into them the first time. I’ve thought about Fifty Shades, too. Not sure I want to go down that road, either. What’s the bloggess?

      • nevercontrary May 30, 2012 at 8:29 pm #

        She is the amazing blogger out of austin. http://www.theblogess.com – read her post about unicorn success club. The book is called lets pretend this never happened.

  2. Beverly May 29, 2012 at 10:55 pm #

    Currently finished up a trio of novels about Amish life by Wanda Brunstetter and also reading Drift, by Rachel Maddow — a scary and very enlightening book about the US war machine. Amish people and war… that’s how I roll!

    • jmlindy422 May 30, 2012 at 7:32 am #

      Love the bipolar approach to reading! I may check out the Rachel Maddow; she’s my first lesbian hero. Heroine? Whatever. She’s great. Not sure I’m into Amish life. Are there vampires?

  3. Mary Rayis May 30, 2012 at 9:03 am #

    Currently reading a book of short stories about life at Ft. Hood and on duty in Iraq. The title is You Know When the Men Are Gone. I would describe it as haunting. Not sure what’s next. Who is this Kim Harrison?

    • jmlindy422 May 30, 2012 at 9:36 am #

      Kim Harrison is a fantasy writer. She’s got some wit to her. I just couldn’t really get into her first book. Now, Tania Huff…that’s an amazing fantasy writer. Mary, have you tried the Reacher novels? They are popcorn, but if you are into military stuff, they can be fun–if mayhem is fun. The first one isn’t the best one. Also, have you seen Generation Kill, an HBO series? I loved it, but I would watch Alexander Skarsgaard look out into space.

    • Beverly May 30, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

      Kim Harrison wrote the books that the HBO series True Blood is based on. I find True Blood a bit graphic for my taste, but the books are good. I met Kim several years ago and she is a very nice person, as well!

    • Beverly May 30, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

      Oops, I just realized that Kim did not write the True Blood series. Sorry. That was Charlaine Harris. Regardless, Kim is a very nice person!

      • jmlindy422 May 30, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

        I was gonna say something, but you self-corrected! You go, girl. Did you read the Sookie books, too?

  4. Mad Queen Linda May 30, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

    You can probably see my face is as red as my queen’s coat. I’m reading Lonesome Dove. My goal is to someday read current literature. In my defense, I inhaled Steve Jobs’ biography by Walter Isaacson.

    • jmlindy422 May 30, 2012 at 4:00 pm #

      I used to read literature; now I read crap. I even wrote about the crap I read! http://wp.me/p15l2g-e

      • Mad Queen Linda May 31, 2012 at 8:51 am #

        I was actually thinking more about the age of the book than the quality. It took 200 pages before it became quite a worthy read. I also read my first ebook, a Harry Houdini mystery, written from the point of view of Houdini’s brother. Good dialog, easy read (and published this year, I might add).

  5. Mike is Happy May 30, 2012 at 4:11 pm #

    I have a very short attention span so I read a number of things at once and jump around: “Excelsior, You Fathead!” by Jean Shepherd; “The Braindead Megaphone” by my hero, George Saunders; Sports Illustrated; the back of the box of Cinnamon Toast Crunch; Texts from the Dog: http://www.sadanduseless.com/2012/04/texts-from-my-dog/

    • jmlindy422 May 30, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

      Texts from the Dog is pretty darn funny, Mike. Thanks!

    • jmlindy422 May 30, 2012 at 5:05 pm #

      I, too, hop around with books. I’ve got two novels going at once right now and several non-fic.

      • Beverly May 30, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

        My reading has suffered since I discovered the game Minecraft, I’m afraid. Hey, it’s summer… I’m entitled to a little fun!

  6. jmlindy422 May 30, 2012 at 8:03 pm #

    I’m addicted to Jumbline 2. The rest of the family is, too. They grab my iPod from me when I’m playing.

  7. philosophermouseofthehedge May 30, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

    Summer is great – people seem to assume it’s the reading season ( which means more competition at the library)
    I’m reading Altar of Bones by Philip Carter today – it’s a Dan Brown-ish/ international conspiracy type deal – interesting since it has scenes in Galveston area, involves Marilyn Monroe’s death, the Kennedy assassination (and his affairs), US and Russian mafia – and more…starts in SIberia and moves all over.
    Sooo, I’ll be signing off now to read. YEA BOOKS

Leave a Reply

