Why I Learned to Love, Or At Least Tolerate, The F-word

7 May

My son swears; he swears alot. Gotta be my fault because I swear alot. I swear, I don’t swear nearly as much as I used to, but it’s freaking hard to stop! Still there are words worse than the F-word in my mind and coming out of other people’s mouths.

Here’s my latest column in the Patch: http://naperville.patch.com/articles/what-could-be-worse-than-the-f-word

6 Responses to “Why I Learned to Love, Or At Least Tolerate, The F-word”

  1. keynoncoaching May 7, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

    I’m with you on this. I know that I let my kids drop words that certainly would not have been viewed favorably in my house growing up! My mother even hated when we said that something ‘sucked’. But, like you, I did not allow them to use words or say things that put down any other person or group of people. And today, they are some of the most accepting and tolerant people I know! Score another point for the pussie brigade!

    • jmlindy422 May 7, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

      Thanks. Now, if I tell my son I’m part of the Pussie Brigade, he’ll have a few choice words! My husband is so used to us, he’ll just bury his head in his hands.

      • keynoncoaching May 7, 2012 at 6:01 pm #

        I can hear the words that your son would say (mine would likely say some of the same) and the sigh of resignation from your husband…….

  2. nevercontrary May 7, 2012 at 7:34 pm #

    I wasn’t even allowed to say stupid when I was a kid. Oh parenting

    • jmlindy422 May 7, 2012 at 8:22 pm #

      We got in trouble for saying “snot.” Now that I’m old and, presumably, an adult, I say “snot” in front of my dad just for giggles.

  3. philosophermouseofthehedge May 8, 2012 at 10:29 am #

    Kids are pretty smart can learn that words are like clothes – different ones are appropriate for different times, places, and audiences. It’s not a big deal. Being aware of others and keeping control over yourself are a good lessons for life.

Leave a Reply

