Ann Romney and Hilary Rosen: Who’s raising their own kids?

23 Apr

Nothing like grinding an axe, particularly when two of them–politics and adoption–come together so neatly. I just know you were waiting for me to weigh in on the Ann Romney/Hilary Rosen mess. So, here it is:

http://naperville.patch.com/articles/let-s-adopt-a-better-attitude-toward-adoption

13 Responses to “Ann Romney and Hilary Rosen: Who’s raising their own kids?”

  1. keynoncoaching April 23, 2012 at 11:27 am #

    Mom-ing is a tough job even when it’s going smoothly. And no matter how your children come to you, they are still your children; tied to your heart 24/7/365!

  2. nevercontrary April 23, 2012 at 7:23 pm #

    It blows me away some of the cruel things people can say, and then just go what do you mean I said something wrong.

    • jmlindy422 April 23, 2012 at 7:37 pm #

      I had to listen to a friend of my sister’s tell me what she thought was the most hilarious thing. She said, and I am not making this up, that an Asian friend of hers is so tired of seeing white parents with Asian children that she’s going to go out and adopt a bunch of white kids just to piss everyone off. My sister’s friend actually thought I would think it was funny and then totally didn’t get it when I didn’t laugh. This woman KNOWS our daughter. Her husband adores our daughter!

      • nevercontrary April 23, 2012 at 8:32 pm #

        Oh my word. Oh my.

      • philosophermouseofthehedge April 24, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

        You think that’s funny – how about this: My friend’s daughter and her husband had adopted 2 daughters from China. The Asian neighbors are so upset because the couple is Hispanic! It really bothers them that “Mexicans” have these 2 girls. – and the kids speak English, Spanish and some Chinese (taking classes) Crazy.

      • jmlindy422 April 24, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

        Wow, that is some crazy stuff! I guess Hispanics are only allowed to adopt from Guatemala?

  3. Karaboo April 24, 2012 at 7:34 am #

    I love your article and totally agree. I do not have any “adopted” children, but I do have step-children. I view them as my own and treat them like I do my bio-son. I refer to them in conversation as my kids.

    No one should ever feel less as a parent just because they didn’t give birth to a child. This is a hard job and someone has to do it!!

    • jmlindy422 April 24, 2012 at 7:49 am #

      Amen, amen and amen. Thanks for the love.

  4. philosophermouseofthehedge April 24, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

    Great article. Moms of all kinds encouraged to be tolerant and understanding. Each mom has a tough job – no matter how they choose to live their lives and raise their kids. The children are the important thing. (Wish women would stop sniping at each other over this – don’t know whether it’s guilt or envy – but both sides get over it.)

    • jmlindy422 April 24, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

      Thanks! I’m not sure where the snipe at each other thing comes from either. Guilt? Envy? You’re right, though. Get over it!

  5. scribblechic April 24, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    My seven year old daughter asked me if everyone has to birth children to be a mother and I was so touched to embrace a conversation about parenting as a choice rather than a biological ability.

    • jmlindy422 April 24, 2012 at 3:43 pm #

      That is so sweet! thanks for sharing that.

Leave a Reply

