Say you want some evolution?

2 Apr

I thought the idea of evolution was pretty much established as the way species work in our world. But, that’s not what I found when I looked into the subject. Here in the United States, you just can’t tell if your kids are getting the proper foundation in this foundational concept in modern science.

Here’s the link to my Naperville Patch column on the subject.

http://naperville.patch.com/articles/teaching-evolution-shouldn-t-exclude-critique

15 Responses to “Say you want some evolution?”

  1. keynoncoaching April 2, 2012 at 2:33 pm #

    I’m with you on that!

    • jmlindy422 April 2, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

      I should really check with my daughter on what they are learning. Her music teacher was using a song with the words, I see the moon and the moon sees me. God made the moon and god made me. Yikes! She stopped using it after I complained to her and the principal. I may have taken it to the board, too.

  2. nevercontrary April 2, 2012 at 7:53 pm #

    Oh my. This is shocking. How am I a teacher and did not know this? I wonder what our biology teachers teach? Especially since I am at a religious private school in the south.

    • jmlindy422 April 2, 2012 at 8:33 pm #

      I couldn’t believe it either. What subject do you teach?

      • nevercontrary April 2, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

        I teach math. I like teaching it because it is very black and white. No controversy, just general dislike.

    • jmlindy422 April 2, 2012 at 9:13 pm #

      I teach math and English. I never thought I’d say this, but I like teaching the math better ’cause it is black and white. It’s so hard to teach a child what is good writing and why theirs isn’t!

      • nevercontrary April 2, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

        I know exactly what you mean. I assigned a one page paper on various math topics with a rubric and kids were so upset when they did poorly. They just did not understand and I could not explain it.

  3. philosophermouseofthehedge April 3, 2012 at 6:28 pm #

    Parents need to request to see the curriculum guides that the teachers must use….and review the textbooks, too.

    • jmlindy422 April 4, 2012 at 9:14 am #

      As if. In my student teaching days, I had a boy who missed school at least one each week because his mother was too tired to bring him. I’ve only met a handful of parents who would go to the lengths you note. And one of them is me!

      • philosophermouseofthehedge April 4, 2012 at 9:51 am #

        Sad but true (been there, done that). It’s always the same parents at the school meetings – and many schools know there’s no interest by parents. You can no longer trust the school to have the child’s best interest at heart. Many schools / teachers are strictly in survival mode. If it’s your kid, any time spent is an investment in his/her future. (It’s how I realized my daughter’s world history class was still teaching the Soviet Union when that government had broken up apart months before…the teacher explain she had already printed out all her tests and worksheets for the year and didn’t want to redo them…and she was a highly awarded teacher and one held up as an example to the rest of the district).
        Once again, good post

  4. Trick Brown April 4, 2012 at 6:07 pm #

    The fact that creationist keep trying to legislate their ideology drives me nuts. It’s a never ending battle. As if passing a law will somehow change the nature of the universe…

  5. jmlindy422 April 4, 2012 at 7:51 pm #

    And today, I had to write a letter to the principal of my daughter’s school telling her is it NOT ok for the school dance to benefit Feed My Starving Children. On soooooooooo many levels it isn’t ok.

    • Trick Brown April 6, 2012 at 11:13 pm #

      Yeah, this one is a tough one for me. I actually believe in the charities for helping starving children and the homeless.

      It is unfortunate that there isn’t a skeptical alternative to donate to, but until one comes along, I’d rather people donate to one of these organizations than charities where the money goes outside the U.S..

      Not that I don’t believe in feeding starving Africans or other foreign children, but given the choice of donating to christian charities feeding children here versus donating to christian charities feeding children over there, I see no logical argument to let our children starve first.

      • jmlindy422 April 11, 2012 at 10:35 am #

        I don’t at all have a problem with religious organizations feeding starving children, no matter where the children are. I DO have a problem with my daughter’s school supporting a religious organization, no matter what the organization does.

Leave a Reply

