I’ve had it with ugly political talk. Have you?

5 Mar

Here’s a link to my column in today’s Naperville Patch. I’m sick of how we talk politics in the US. You don’t have to be from Naperville to find my comments relevant.

http://naperville.patch.com/articles/let-s-put-the-civil-back-into-civic-debate

6 Responses to “I’ve had it with ugly political talk. Have you?”

  1. keynoncoaching March 5, 2012 at 11:58 am #

    Amen, and amen! I hope Sen. Snowe will be vocal and influential in a movement to change the direction of political discourse in this country. I, for one, would join that movement!

    • jmlindy422 March 5, 2012 at 12:16 pm #

      I’ve read that she might be considering a run for President. They we’d see if Americans really want a moderate approach. Would definitely be interesting!

  2. nevercontrary March 5, 2012 at 6:36 pm #

    This hatred that has become common place in politics is disgusting. It is so sad it breaks my heart. Great Article!

    • jmlindy422 March 5, 2012 at 7:28 pm #

      Thanks! Hasn’t generated as much buzz on the Patch website, but the articles full of nasty comments do!

      Sigh.

      • nevercontrary March 5, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

        That is part of the problem I fear. It will take a whole new generation of youth that want to hear about positivity and shun the anger.

  3. jmlindy422 March 5, 2012 at 8:25 pm #

    Yes, I’m afraid you are right. It’s very discouraging for me as a professional trying to write. My success will be measured based on, in part, how many comments my columns generate. Another blogger/columnist on the paper is very incendiary, flip and uses language I just wouldn’t come near. So, I get 8 comments on a good column and she gets 400. Sigh. Sigh and sigh.

Leave a Reply

