How WordPress Gave Me A Migraine but I Found Blog Love Anyway

19 Dec

Many of you know that WordPress, the service that manages my blog, recently featured my blog on its homepage. For those in the know, I was “Freshly Pressed.” For those in the don’t know, WordPress is the place on the Internet where I post my blog. Every day, WordPress, the biggest hosting service out there, picks the best of that day’s posts. They say they wade through more than 650,000 posts and who am I to argue.

The Monday before Thanksgiving, WordPress picked my post on gratitude. Now, WordPress promises that they will let you know if they pick your post for Freshly Pressed. WordPress lied to me. I found out I was Freshly Pressed when I checked email that day and saw I had, oh, say 100 emails from strangers commenting on my blog. I was shocked, amazed, astounded and all of those other words I tell my students to use instead of “surprised.”

I did not count how many people hit the like button or made some nice comment about that post. WordPress kept track of the activity on my blog, though. Over the course of two days, I had 3,450 views on my blog. A typical Monday prior to that, I would get about 3,400 fewer.

At the same time . . .

Many of you also know that we are broke. One of the expenses we’ve put off is veterinary care. That same Monday, my daughter was playing with her Littlest Pet Shop figures. “Mom,” she said, looking at something lying on the floor, “is that one of Pogo’s teeth?” It was, indeed, one of our dog’s teeth. Our dog can’t eat soft food without diarrh—oh, I mean—dire circumstances. His teeth are, therefore, tremendously important to me. I checked the checkbook and called the vet.

Vet expenses are one of those things that you think are going to be affordable in the “we can probably pay for it if we eat vegan for a month” category, but always wind up in the “we can only pay for this if we eat hay for a year” category. I never have to have a blood test before getting my teeth cleaned, but my dog does. So, blood test. His rabies vaccine had also expired, so rabies vaccine. Fortunately, he pooped on the waiting room floor, so I was spared following him around with a little plastic spoon to collect fresh turd. So, fecal test.  Total: $500.

I got Pogo home and went to my office, where I responded to probably 60 more comments.

At the same time . . .

It was Thanksgiving week. Thanksgiving is at my house. My house was trashed.

At the same time . . .

I’d been training for my first 5K. I needed to find time to run.

Comments answered, I went to the kitchen for a tea refill. Pogo’s face had swelled to the point that his tiny Papillon snout was nearly buried in bulging fur-covered flesh. We went to the vet. Injection to counter allergic reaction: $100 and we still hadn’t done the dental work.

I deal really well with crises; I keep calm. I took my dog to the vet. I responded to the comments. I made the pecan pie. I trained for the run. No, crises don’t faze me. It’s the letdown afterward that’s a bitch.

I woke at 5 am Thanksgiving morning with a migraine. I took a thermonuclear pain pill and went to bed. I skipped the run. The turkey was great.

At the same time . . .

Things were still hoppin’ on my blog. In addition to the humbling praise, I received awards from two other bloggers:

the Versatile Blogger Award

and

the Liebster Award.

Both have strings attached.

Requirements:

•  Thank the bloggers who nominated me for the award. Totally up on that; a Southern woman raised me. I’m hoping it’s ok to combine the two. So, thanks to The Waiting, Nevercontrary, Katy Stuff and Aprillbrandon for the Versatile Award and CrudMyKidsSay for the Liebster.

Please check them out. They are great bloggers writing clearly and creatively.

•  Pass the award on to 15 (5 for the Liebster) other bloggers. Now, this was kind of a problem as I didn’t really read other bloggers. SHAME! I found them though and they’re listed below.

• List seven things about me you may not know. See FAR below. You don’t know these things for a reason, people!

The blogs you will check out and may like as much as I do.

A Clean Surface: sort of Martha Stewart with a life. Check out how to make a gingerbread house.

A Buddhist in the Rust Belt: just discovered this. It takes some . . . guts to be a Buddhist in Montana.

Kpgarcia: poetry and photos.

Boggleton Drive: really cool comic. Check out this gem.

Teachermother: writing about teaching and mothering. Duh.

Violet Sunday Studio: ART!!

People I want to punch in the throat: kind of like my blog only. The post on the Elf on The Shelf is priceless.

(Crap! We’re only at seven!)

Democratic Party of DuPage County: don’t laugh. There really is one. Is it bad to nominate a blog I edit? So what!

Renovating Rita: she’s got a recipe for latkes. What’s not to like?

Scribblechic: sweet musings on motherhood. (Yes, I can appreciate sweetness.)

Philosopher mouse of the hedge: the selling mistletoe story is about one of the best Christmas stories I’ve heard.

You’ve Been Hooked: tales from a bellman. Really. Funny!

(Twelve . . .almost there.)

The Anvil: Colonel Klink for President?

Kvetchmom: doesn’t every mom kvetch?

Huffygirl: a nurse practitioner on life and wellness

Whew! Done.

Now for the seven things:

1.     I match my bra and panties. Every day.

2.     I hate green peppers.

3.     I watched Jersey Shore. Once.

4.     I eat Hellman’s out of the jar.

5.     My hair turns orange if I color it myself.

6.     I don’t care how my alma mater fares in sports.

7.     I was a sorority girl.

Thank you all, from the bottom of my heart, for your kindness and support. I’m loving the wild life on my blog and you’re the reason.

Janice

19 Responses to “How WordPress Gave Me A Migraine but I Found Blog Love Anyway”

  1. Trick Brown December 19, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

    Hehe, congratulations on the awards.

    It’s amazing what we can do in an allotted time if the need arises, but you’re right, all that productivity is almost always cancelled shortly thereafter in the recovery time.

    • jmlindy422 December 19, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

      Thanks! Read your post on the land line. God, I love my land line and appreciate your reminder of how awesome they really are. Of course, you also have to have the non-cordless phone, too.

      • Trick Brown December 19, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

        I had my “cord-full” phone (as I called it) until September 2000. I hated the cordless variety.

        I got my first cell phone that month. A few weeks later, I cancelled the land line and have never looked back.

        Of course, I’m not a big phone talker anyway. My AT&T rollover minutes could service a small third world country.

  2. scribblechic December 19, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

    Thank you for a happy surprise on an ordinary day!

  3. Rayme Wells @ A Clean Surface December 19, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

    Thank you! Being complimented or promoted by other bloggers always makes my day.
    The very first link I will check out is “Philosopher mouse of the hedge” just because of the name.

    • jmlindy422 December 19, 2011 at 7:40 pm #

      Oh, you’re welcome! Thanks for the gingerbread house tips!

  4. Sunshine December 19, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

    Thank you Janice!
    I always wanted to know how a Freshly Pressed person first, found out about it. Second, what actually went on after they found out and finally, how did they handle their newly found fame.
    Congratulations!! 🙂

    • jmlindy422 December 19, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

      Thanks! Getting “Pressed” is pretty awesome. Of course, now all of my site data is skewed. My “normal day” stats look pathetic even though they are about twice what they were before getting pressed.

  5. sukanya December 20, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    congratulations, very well deserved. hope Pogo’s teeth got fixed.

  6. philosophermouseofthehedge December 20, 2011 at 10:08 am #

    Made pecan pie and found time to run? You get the Tinsel award of the day ( I wish it were a Major Award lamp – but – hey there’s not acceptance requirements or lists to make!) Jingle on.

    • jmlindy422 December 20, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

      But I did not straighten my house.

  7. Deb Beaupre December 20, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    Wow, thanks for the shout-out, Snide. I can’t call you Janice after all this time not knowing who you are. I think you may be my twin sister from a different mother.We have nutty lives, kids with issues, and scarily similar views on same. I suffer from killer migraines as well, which is the main reason my blog productivity is subpar.Hard to write when all you do is stay in bed moaning. Ten days ago I had 33 botox shots in my face and neck and now I can’t raise my eyebrows and I still have headaches. As a Black woman, I don’t have wrinkles even in my forties, so that was money ill spent. Am considering taking up smoking weed, which I hear works. Now, that would be an interesting blog topic, especially from jail, which, knowing my luck ,is where I’d be.
    Thanks again, happy holidays, Deb

    • jmlindy422 December 20, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

      Oh, damn! I wish they’d give ME Botox. As a White woman (I never liked that term….I’m sort of beigey pink. My Chinese daughter is not yellow, either), I show every wrinkle in my 50s. I take Maxalt for the migraines. Heating pad on the neck with ice on the site of the pain also works. Good luck!

      Janice

  8. candidsmiles December 24, 2011 at 1:34 am #

    First, your paragraph on the visit to the vet tickled me. I have that same predicament between food and vet visits, and the vet always wins. I guess that is the price I pay for being an animal lover but also being a broke college student.

    Second, and also final, I enjoy your blog. It gives me the giggles. That is all.

  9. Renovating Rita December 26, 2011 at 9:03 am #

    In the midst of seasonal-chaos-let-down I made my way over and SURPRISE you mentioned me in your post. Cheered me right up, thank you.

  10. Orlando Chiropractic March 3, 2012 at 6:21 pm #

    I really like looking through a post that will make people think. Also, thanks for allowing for me to comment!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blogging about Blogging « rsmithing - January 4, 2012

    […] How WordPress Gave Me a Migraine (but I found blog love anyway) (jlwrite.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

