Help Them Find Their Words. Even The Gibberish Ones.

10 Dec

I remember the adorable things my kids said. My daugher had “ojin” (orange). She also had sign language since she came from China at 13 months and had to start all over with language accumulation. My son had “Baroona’s” (Barbara’s Book Store) and “Peanut  butter, jelly, mustard and plain” (a peanut butter and jelly sandwich with mustard and mayonnaise).

Some kids have no words. Read about them here at a terrific blog, areyoufinishedyet. com.

Help Them Find Their Words. Even The Gibberish Ones..

PS. Do any of you know what the heck “Scottish Rite” is? I’ve seen in a few times and always wondered.

9 Responses to “Help Them Find Their Words. Even The Gibberish Ones.”

  1. AreYouFinishedYet December 10, 2013 at 1:52 pm #

    Hey lady! Thanks so much for sharing this. I really appreciate it. Obviously, I have a personal vested interest in this, but it truly amazes me the work this clinic does for children who would otherwise be voiceless.

    You made my day!

    (OH, I can’t fully explain Scottish Rite, but I know it has to do with the Freemasons…who are like the Shriners, Knights of Columbus, etc. The St. Louis Scottish Rite Freemasons are the ones who initially opened the clinic and continue to support and help fund it.)

    • jmlindy422 December 10, 2013 at 2:52 pm #

      Glad to share. All of my money is going to another cause this year. I looked up Scottish Rite. It is a Freemasons thing and it started around the time of the Scottish rebellions to British rule. I’m interested because I am reading the Outlander books by Diana Gabaldon.

      • AreYouFinishedYet December 10, 2013 at 3:00 pm #

        I get the money thing. There are so many worthy causes…and most of us have so little extra money. I really appreciate the share though…awareness is just as important!

  2. philosophermouseofthehedge December 10, 2013 at 5:57 pm #

    The Scottish Rite organizations funds hospitals and charity care. It’s an old organization who like the Masons try to make the world a better place and their members better people
    I love your kids’ language interpretations. Must jog over for gibberish….never enough gibberish and people doing good!

  3. Luanne December 10, 2013 at 9:12 pm #

    Thanks for the arrow to the post. Isn’t Scottish rite associated with the Masons and Eastern Star?

    • jmlindy422 December 11, 2013 at 9:14 am #

      I researched Scottish Rite. In one of those world’s colliding things, I found that Scottish Rite is a Mason’s thing and that it was established some time around the Scottish Risings (1740s+) in France. I read the Outlander books and there is a reference to Jaime (a Scot) joining the Freemasons at about that time while he was in Paris.

      • Luanne December 11, 2013 at 9:37 am #

        I find the Masons to be fascinating. I have two books that have entered my house about them (bought on sale, one by me and one by hubby), and I keep meaning to sit down and do actual research. Some of my ancestors were Masons.

  4. The Hook December 13, 2013 at 7:05 pm #

    As far as I can tell, Scottish Rite has something to do with the Masons,a group that both intrigues and terrifies me simultaneously.

    • jmlindy422 December 13, 2013 at 9:43 pm #

      As my daughter would say, “I know, right?!” The Masons are up there in the ooky/I gotta look at it factor.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,581 other followers

